XDcam Xfer into Pro Res? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 29th, 2010, 12:36 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
XDcam Xfer into Pro Res?

Shooting EX1R, is there a way using XDcam transfer to "import" , wrap the footage as mov in ProRes codec, instead of just XDcam?

Currently I use XDcam Xfer 2.11 and just hit import to my destination folder and it appears as an MOV in XDcam format...can we do the same but somehow make it mov in Pro res codec?
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,777
Going to ProRes is not a wrap but a transcode.
XDCAM Transfer does not do it nor does Final Cut Pro Log and Transfer.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2010, 08:49 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 645
>can we... somehow make it mov in Pro res codec?

Kent

You could set up an automated action to monitor the XDCAM Transfer import folder and transcode the transferred/rewrapped files to ProRes before importing to FCP ... but bear in mind that you'd lose timecode in that process.

Another option would be to use FCP's Media Manager > Recompress function to transcode the imported clips to ProRes (this method isn't automated of course, but it does keep the timecode).

Hope it helps
Andy
Andy Mees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
What are you hoping to gain by doing this? You won't improve your image quality and you'll end up with much larger files.

You could always use something like MpegStreamclip to batch transcode you imported mp4 .mov's to prores files.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2010, 01:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
Thanks...just wanted to know since some of my shots may be conformed to 24fps using Cinema tools and I think the clips need to be transcoded first, to Pro Res or something other than XDcam, correct?
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2010, 02:14 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Ahh, yes.. You will need ProRes for that particular workflow.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network