ex1r external audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2011, 11:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 513
ex1r external audio

b4 i went hd, i was shooting with a dsr300. i shoot alot of stage performances and whenever i got a feed from a board for my 300, the audio was prisine. ive shot 2 jobs with my ex1r where i needed an external feed. when i listened on the audio guys headphones the audio was very crisp, when i monitored the feed in my cam with my phones, it wasnt that great. had the xlr set on mic, putting it on line , i heard nothing,. it was alsways on mic on my dsr 300 as well.
i havent adjusted any of the audio settings, on the r,A: limiter, mic agc, agc link, theyre on the default settings. im guessing that the mic agc should be on low instead of high and this is why the audio was just ok, instead of the crisp signal im used to hearing. also, i havent messed any with the trim settings.
i never had to do anything on the 300. always had the agc on as well.
input appreciated.
have another identical shoot this weekend.
thanks
Jim Stamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 01:48 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
Re: ex1r external audio

Jim, the EX1R is much more of a pro beast - check out the qualified comments regarding the focussing systems for example - basically be a pro and focus manually.

If you're taking a feed from a desk it's very unlikely not to be line level. Ask the DJ to feed you a pilot tone to set up against and hope that he uses his desk properly.
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 09:19 AM   #3
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Re: ex1r external audio

Jim,

I never use AGC. I just set the levels so an average signal is about -20DB, make sure peak never goes past -5 or so.

I have used both mic and line, depending on the level output by the board, though line is more common.

There are software trims you can set levels with in the menus as well. They are mostly for matching mics.

I often use inline pads on mics with high output levels instead of internal trim.

I find that monitoring on headphones and watching the VU meters is always the best way to assure good audio. I have never had a problem with the EX3 or EX1R audio.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 11:31 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 513
Re: ex1r external audio

i only focus manually as i did with my dsr.
Jim Stamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 12:20 PM   #5
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Re: ex1r external audio

I am old school, Jim.

I never use auto gain (audio or sensor gain), auto iris or autofocus. All I can say is if you set the levels as I outlined above then you will get great audio, and monitoring keeping an eye on the VU meters in case someone changes something on the board. It happens.

I am not saying it is wrong to use auto features, it is I just don't do it myself. So I can't help trouble shoot your problems with auto gain on the EXcam.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 12:36 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 513
Re: ex1r external audio

ok,
i usually dont do auto ,but since i hadnt had the cam that long, i didnt adjust it until i got some input.
where am i setting the -20db,
so the limiter you keep off and on the mic agc do you have on high or low?
Jim Stamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2011, 03:28 PM   #7
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Re: ex1r external audio

In the Info mode you have a scale:
Attached Thumbnails
ex1r external audio-vu.png  
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2011, 03:06 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 172
Re: ex1r external audio

Jim - how did it go on the 2nd shoot? Get the levels sorted out?
Keith Dobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2011, 11:39 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 513
Re: ex1r external audio

much better ,thanks,
am using direct box always now.
Jim Stamos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network