Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2012, 06:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Easiest way for my client to import video and audio of the raw BPAV clips from my EX1R camera? Says he's only getting audio - will Adobe Premier edit with the MXF files?

He has Premier CS 5...thanks
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2012, 06:52 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Posts: 33
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Kent, I shoot EX1R. I take the cards out of the camera, dock them into my laptop cardslot, transfer the files to hard drive, import the files to the CS5 bin, and edit immideately. Premiere handles them better than any other system. I also have a full-tower system running CS5 and it goes just as smoothe there. At the station I work for they have a FCP6 system, and it sucks for EX files.
I really don't have any idea why it won't work for you.
__________________
www.gregoryfilms.com
(keep the faith....better yet, pass it on!)
Thomas Gregory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2012, 06:55 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Very weird then...he's on MAC OS X laptop (don't know if ti's Lion or what)...so how to take the raw footage on one SxS card and import into Premier CS 5? How to transcode the files into .mov if that will work? Or how to do this using XDcam Browser 2.0?

I myself use FCP 7 and I know how it works with that.
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2012, 09:34 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Posts: 33
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Kent, Ok, my experience with FCP, The whole BPAV file needs to go to hard drive, then on FCP you need to use the "log and transfer" process. Took me awhile to get this right myself on FCP. No idea why final cut can't handle it like premiere, it's much easier. I create a folder for each shoot, seperate sub-folders inside that if there's more than one card used, and in each sub folder (card1, card2...) I put the entire BPAV folder from the card.
In Log & Transfer, tell it where to look for new clips. then select them, drag 'em to the bottom to get rewrapped so FCP will handle them. Hope this helps...

EDIT
Sorry, just reread your post, you know how to handle them in FCP. My only advice now is to throw away the mac. No experience with premiere on a mac, guess I'm kinda useless to you,.....so sorry. I have a custom built PC that will run circles around a mac, and for less than half the cost.
__________________
www.gregoryfilms.com
(keep the faith....better yet, pass it on!)
Thomas Gregory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 02:58 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Use the Media Browser within Premiere to open up the BPAV folder. It should auto-recognize it is an XDCAM EX file structure and will display clips instead of files.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 04:15 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kent Beeson View Post
Easiest way for my client to import video and audio of the raw BPAV clips from my EX1R camera? Says he's only getting audio - will Adobe Premier edit with the MXF files?

He has Premier CS 5...thanks
You shouldn't have any MXF files, which is where the problem could be. The raw clips are MP4 within the BPAV folder and Premiere Pro automatically displays the MP4 files as clips and also connects any recordings that span across 2 or more files.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 08:29 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Client says he has an Academic copy of Premier and it only imports the audio(?) from the XDcam clips...not sure but as a work-around we're going to rewrap all clips as .mov files and it'll work this way - yes?
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:13 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

MOVs require Final Cut to be installed to work with Quicktime's XDCAM codec, I think. (if you want to keep the compression as MPEG-2)

If worse comes to worse, compress it to Apple ProRes 422 HQ using MPEG Streamclip.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:15 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

so does that mean .mov's won't work in Premier CS 5?
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kent Beeson View Post
so does that mean .mov's won't work in Premier CS 5?
Apple ProRes MOVs will work with CS5. Try using MPEG Streamclip on the raw files. Note that this will not combine spanned clips.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 09:37 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: near Austin
Posts: 247
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

So me using XDcam Transfer (as I just did) to make all XDcam clips into mov's won't work in Premier? They are XDcam codec of course. I was going to give these new mov's to client but will they not work?
Kent Beeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 11:11 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Final Cut must be installed for it to work with MOV files from XDCAM Browser. MPEG Streamclip should be an option if it works.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 05:02 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Just for the sake of general knowledge: there's no such thing as 'Premier'. This magnificent piece of software from Adobe is called 'Première', with an 'e' and it is French for 'first run'. In English it is also written with an 'e', by the way...

I see this mistake very often in other discussion boards too, and it means that Adobe marketing made a bad choice when picking this name. Brand names should be simple and straightforward, in as many languages as possible.
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2012, 09:00 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

Your client obviously doesn't know what they are doing. The 'academic' version is NOT a separate version. It only refers to a special price. If they can't get it to work, then trying to tell them to re-wrap the video clips isn't going to be any easier.

Tell them to install Teamviewer, you install Teamviewer on your computer and then log into their computer and determine what is happening. I use this software for free on all of my computers as well as any friend or family member who needs me to fix their computer rather than me drive to them every time the screen resolution gets changed and they don't have a clue how to change it back (I'm not kidding).

FYI, MOV is simply a wrapper, but Premiere Pro on Windows cannot handle many codecs wrapped in MOV even though PPro can handle just about every non-MOV codec. (AVI is also a wrapper and does not refer to any codec) One example is MOV files from the nanoFlash which do not work in PPro and AE on Windows without an $80 plugin. If anything, it sounds as though this client used XDCAM Transfer which imported and wrapped everything into MOV files. I can only assume how frustrating this must be for you.

Side note: on one of my workstations, when I open a clip into the Source window, the image is blank but the audio plays. I fix this simply by clicking in the timeline and then clicking on the Source window and everything works. This issue only happens when first opening PPro. This particular 'bug' is due to my Blackmagic Design Decklink Extreme 3D card and associated software.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2012, 06:48 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands
Posts: 294
Re: Raw Files into Premier CS 5 - how?

For Premiere you only need to copy all the files from the SxS card into a folder (call it 'footage' or 'footage-card1' or whatever) on the harddisk you use for editing.
In Premiere:
- Import [CTRL/Cmd + I]
- Browse to the folder containing the BPAV-folder
- Select folder ('footage') and press 'Import Folder'

Premiere imports all files from the folder and recognizes the files as being EXcam-files.
(It still says some files can't be opened, but that are the metadata/xml-files: don't worry about that notification).
In the projectwindow in Premiere you now have a folder called 'footage' (or whatever you named it) with all the clips, but without all the subfolders that are found when browsing the BPAV-folder).

Are you sure you client has CS5?
It sounds more like a CS2-problem when EXcam was not yet supported (because it was brandnew when CS already existed).

So you don't have to rewrap or transcode at all.
However, using the Sony EX Clipbrowser can be usefull to copy the files, because it does check the copied files for errors.
Sony Clipbrowser is also the quickest way to easily watch the footage without moving through sub-subfolders all the time when it's not imported yet.
__________________
Brainstormnavigator searching for the hole in the sky.....
Audiovisual Designer (NL) - http://www.brokxmedia.nl
Walter Brokx is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network