Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 31st, 2012, 03:37 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

I need to know a few things:

Do the clips recorded work in Clip Browser 2.6? (I want to keep my Acquisition tab, thank you very much)

Does overcranking with a Media Adapter still work? (My MEAD-SD01 happily overcranks on Sandisk UHS-1 cards on 1.20)

Finally, does overcranking work on XQD?

If at least the first two are answered, I can feel confident upgrading my EX1R to 1.30.

To all confused, where is the link for 1.30? Search for the EX1 and EX1R on this site to get the SxS update bins: Sony Support Centre (Some machines redirect you away from this site if you browsed for instance to the Sony UK site. It will be hit and miss.)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.

Last edited by Jack Zhang; July 31st, 2012 at 07:10 PM.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 04:37 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

So, apparently this firmware was a leak because all other machines I've visited the site on now no longer allow you to get the firmware. If any of you in Europe are able to get the firmware, please say that this isn't a leak.

Otherwise, looks like we need to wait longer for official XQD support.

In the meantime, this is the Google Cache of the page for the EX1R's 1.30 Firmware: https://webcache.googleusercontent.c...ient=firefox-a
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.

Last edited by Jack Zhang; August 2nd, 2012 at 05:23 AM.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 04:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 337
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Jack,

I had my EX1 updated to V1.30 two weeks ago at my dealer. All seems to be working as per normal with SXS and Sandisk Ultra SD 32g chips so far.

It definitely is not vapour ware as I have it.

All the best,

Graeme
__________________
Graeme
Graeme Fullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 04:49 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Our local dealer refuses to update to it until it appears on the North American microsite. So far, it hasn't.

Are you still able to Overcrank on SDHC? Are you still able to view your clips in XDCAM Clip Browser 2.6?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 08:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 337
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Jack,

I have overcranked at 30fps in 1080p without problems (I am in a PAL country), but have not yet tried 720p as I don't use it.

Will have a look at clip browser today and get back to you.

All the best,
Graeme
__________________
Graeme
Graeme Fullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 10:15 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

720p 24p Rec / 60 Capture is the most critical one. Format 1280/24p, frame rate 60.

Clip Browser is important too, cause I hope they're not mandating the F3's 1.2 firmware and above XDCAM Browser only rule. (XDCAM Browser strips the Acquisition Tab and you have to pay $300 to get it back, when it was free in Clip Browser)

If anyone can do XQD overcrank testing on this firmware too, that would really be appreciated.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 10:55 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 337
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Jack,

I can confirm that 720/60P works fine to SD chips. Just did a couple of shoots of 2 or so minutes and had no problems.

I can also view clips in XDCAM browser V2.1 (the latest). Cannot confirm for the older version as I don't have it. If any one can direct me to where I can get the old Clipbrowser V2.6 I will give it a try.

All the best,

Graeme
__________________
Graeme

Last edited by Graeme Fullick; August 3rd, 2012 at 11:46 PM.
Graeme Fullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 05:05 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Go to the Sony Microsite for your area ( Sony Asia in your case: Welcome : Sony Professional Solutions Asia Pacific ) and just look up the EX1 (NOT EX1R) in the Support section. Clip Browser 2.6 should be available for both Mac and Windows.

Otherwise, Look up "Legacy XDCAM Applications" on the Sony US XDCAM Microsite and XDZ-P1 should be Clip Browser 2.6 http://www.sony.com/xdcam-software

Sorry for the delayed response, didn't realized you edited your post until a couple of days later.

Looks like the Sony UK site has it, but it mandates compulsory registration to get the file. This is easily bypassable if you know the "BugMeNot" trick though:
http://www.sony.co.uk/pro/support/so.../1237486650474 (EX1R)
http://www.sony.co.uk/pro/support/so.../1237486650470 (EX1)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 06:07 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Double posting cause I managed to get it to get the update to work on a SDHC card.

Clip Browser 2.6 still works. Overcrank still works. I'm extremely happy.

Protip: To make updates work via SDHC, you need the Sony SDHC adapter and you have to put the update .BIN file in the SONY folder. There should be a BPAV folder and the update .BIN file in the SONY folder once you're done.

I've attached photo proof.
Attached Thumbnails
Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...-dsc01604.jpg  
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.

Last edited by Jack Zhang; August 7th, 2012 at 06:52 AM.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2012, 12:56 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 11
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Can someone please let me know what site will allow me to obtain v1.30 firmware for my Sony EX1?
Harro Skapinskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2012, 12:14 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

See 2 posts above yours. Use the BugMeNot trick to login to the site.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 05:38 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 127
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Sorry but Im just want to make it clear before I download and update. Does this work for the EX1 as well as the EX1R or just the EX1R? Also, would this bring DVCAM recording ability to the EX1, or is this something that can be added in a firmware upgrade.

Thanks
Mark
Mark Chafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 06:17 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

This thread is for the EX1r only I'm sorry to report. The original EX1 will not record DVCam. There is no firmware for that.

Depending on what firmware level your EX1 is current at the upgrade isn't straightforward to perform. Sony wants you to send the camera to them for the service. You can find the firmware around if you look for it though.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 05:35 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Before I update my EX1R to Version 1.30...

Yes, updating your EX1 will not give DVCAM functionality. That's hardware based.

Likewise, updating your EX1 or EX1R will not give you 50Mbps 4:2:2.

1.30 is available on the Sony UK site with the links I posted a few posts above.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network