PMW-EX1R SDI troubles at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2012, 02:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Posts: 322
PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Currently I'm havind SDI troubles with my PMW-EX1R. The SDI-out does give an SD signal when the EX1R is in SD mode Though, in HD mode Neither the HD-SDI or the SD-SDI will work. I'm unable to playout HD-recorded material via the SDI output. Though because it works in SD-mode it seems that the hardware or connector itself can't be the problem. What am I missing? Which menu setting do I need to change?

Any help is welcome
Gabor Heeres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2012, 03:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

24PsF could be your problem if you are recording/playing back 24p footage in NTSC mode. Try changing that to 60i just in case you are in "NTSC area" mode.

In all other cases, the EX1R outputs 60i/50i in both HD and SD. What is the EX1R feeding to?
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Posts: 322
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Jack,

Thanks for your reply. We do news stuff so footage is recorded in PAL 1920x1080 50i. Just want to be able to playout pre-recorded footage to a HD SNG (satellite van), at leat in HD but on request also in SD (PAL 720x576 50i). I have tried to connect the EX1R to an HD monitor, that doesn't work, no signal at all. Though, when the whole camera (not just set the output to SD-SDI component) is switched to SD mode (for DVCAM recording) it does show a signal. And that's why I believe it's not the hardware that is broken. So I do think it must be a settings thing..... Any help is appreciated.

Gabor
Gabor Heeres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2012, 04:13 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Most likely the fault is on the SNG side, not the EX1R. Can you try to use the HDMI and see if a signal is being fed to that? Do you have any other SDI monitors to see if that can accept the HD-SDI signal?

It could also be the cable. You could try a shorter cable to see if the signal makes it through.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2012, 09:55 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 102
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

There may not be a particular menu setting that is doing it. Try a system reset and see
if the SDI comes back.
Dustin Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2012, 06:09 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Look at the limitations of outputs in th emanual around page 147. SDI and HDMI are mutually exclusive and perhaps you've go the HDMI turned on in HD mode.
Attached Thumbnails
PMW-EX1R SDI troubles-screen-shot-2012-11-16-6.52.03-am.png   PMW-EX1R SDI troubles-screen-shot-2012-11-16-7.05.53-am.png  

PMW-EX1R SDI troubles-screen-shot-2012-11-16-7.07.12-am.png  
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2012, 08:21 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Posts: 322
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Les,

Thank you so much for this. It indeed was the problem that the iLink was activated to HDV and therefore the SDI output didn't give any signal. Once the iLink was disabled it worked immediately. Once more, thank you very much.

Gabor
Attached Thumbnails
PMW-EX1R SDI troubles-dsc_0116.jpg  
Gabor Heeres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2012, 06:27 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: PMW-EX1R SDI troubles

Recording in HQ 1920/25p or 1920/50i cannot be output over the i.Link HDV output. If you are not shooting SP 1440/50i, there is no need for this feature to be on.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network