XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2013, 06:45 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Been a long time since I posted to this forum. Glad to see it's still around. We've been using our EX3 camera and FCP for the last 3 years without a hitch. Never lost any footage or really had any problems. (hope I didn't just jinx myself by saying that)

But now we're slowly switching from FCP to Premiere on our Apple editing systems and that has created some problems.

Adobe doesn't seem to see the advantage of rewrapping XDCAM EX footage into MOV files like FCP did. They like to promote the fact that you can simply start editing. No converting necessary. This "feature" works great in Premiere because there is a built in Media Browser you can use to view your XDCAM EX footage without seeing all the crazy subfolders that make native XDCAM EX footage. But if you try and view the same footage in After Effects, if only gives you the option to import "clips". So for example if you want to import 30 clips into an AE project, you have to go into each BPAV sub folder and select them. This is a tedious and unnecessary process.

We don't want to transcode all the footage as this would talk many hours compared to simply re-wrapping it. We liked the rewrap feature built into FCP 7.0 where you'd end up with a bunch of MOV files. Is there a way to do this with Adobe CS 6 projects? Maybe with the Adobe Media Encoder?

Any advice would be appreciated.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 07:23 PM   #2
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Why not use Sony's "XDCAM Browser" or the newer "Content Browser" utilities to rewrap the clips to MOV? I've also just moved over to Premiere CS6 from FCP7 and that's what I do. It's the same exact workflow I used with FCP since I never liked the "Log & Transfer" function within FCP anyway. Very easy.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 09:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Hey Doug, where is the option in Content Browser to "send to Premiere" or whatever they call it? I see the FCP option but I too have moved to Premiere.
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 10:00 PM   #4
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

You use the same workflow for Premiere that you use for FCP. Just because Sony calls it "Import for Final Cut Pro" doesn't mean the re-wrapped file can't be used with Premiere. Just ignore how they have the function labeled.

BTW, there's a 16 minute excerpt from my PMW-200/160/150/100 training DVD on Vortex Media's website that explains the XDCAM workflow. It costs 5 bucks to view, but it might save you a lot of frustration if you're having trouble with the workflow. http://www.vortexmedia.com/STREAM1.html#TH9
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 10:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Central Florida
Posts: 762
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Doug, is there a similar way to rewrap footage from my FS100 and bring it into Premiere? Or, if Content Browser won't do it, what would you suggest using?
Dave Morrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 11:03 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Thanks Doug. (great to hear from you!)

I guess I'm a little embarrassed. I didn't think the new Content Browser would let you rewrap clips like XDCAM Transfer used to do. I thought all you could do was transcode to another format. I guess I need to read the directions for the application.

Oh yeah....where are the Content Browser directions? lol!

(thanks Doug....hopefully we'll figure out it some how)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2013, 11:11 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Okay, I found the "Import to Final Cut Pro" command. (weird place for them to put it)

But the app gives me numerous error messages:

- Final Cut Pro doesn't seem to be found on your system (shown immediately after I choose the command)
- Choose what app you'd like to open with (shown after it's done re-wrapping the clips)

I guess I need to dig into the preferences a bit to see if I can stop some of the error messages.

Thanks again Doug. :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 05:19 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 189
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Just rewrap to mxf (file - export - mxf for NLE's) and don't scratch your head too much.
Zoran Vincic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 06:49 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Regrettably, you still need FCP7 and Quicktime 7 installed to use the import to Final Cut Pro since it relies on those libraries.

No guarantees that after the pro codecs are uninstalled, that the video would still work with CS6. If it's pointing to the Apple Pro codecs, it's likely you can't use it with CS6 if those are not installed.

You're going to have to keep both on the same system to guarantee success with this method.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 07:42 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,704
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

On top of what Jack mentioned, Premiere now has to use a creaky, aging, QuickTime engine to decode XDCAM Ex when it's re-wrapped to .MOV, so that may impact your editing performance somewhat.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 08:10 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Zoran: Hmmmm..... I assume that's under File>Export? I thought all of those options transcoded the files? If it rewraps, that would be a great solution.

Jack: Forgot to communicate this part to you all... We did purchase Apple Compressor so that installed the "pro codecs", just not Final Cut Pro.

Thanks for all the great advice so far! :-)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 09:56 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Gary: So you're saying that Premiere may perform better when using the native MP4 files verses using the rewrapped MOV's? Interesting.... I guess I'll have to do some tests.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 10:05 AM   #13
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Just to clarify, since Mitchell said he already had FCP it is safe to assume he already has the necessary codecs installed on his machine. But if someone does not have FCP, then, as Jack points out, rewrapping to MOV may not even be possible.

My experience so far with using XDCAM MXF and MP4 files as rewrapped MOV files inside Premiere CS6 has been nothing but ideal. I have no complaints. In fact, I'm not an expert on Speed Grade yet (probably never will be), but it appears MXF files cannot even be used, so rewrapping to MOV is pretty much mandatory for those files.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 11:16 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 74
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

As a long time Premiere user and EX3 shooter, you'll get better performance from editing the native files. I wouldn't re-wrap them into .mov files.

No question that After Effects needs a Media Browser as well, but here's a possible work around: Import all your clips into Premiere. Open After Effects, and create a new comp. Go back into Premiere and highlight all the clips in the bin you want in After Effects. Select Copy, then back in AE, select Paste and all the clips should come over.

So long as you don't plan on moving the files around, this should work and AE will find the clips everytime you open it up.
Eric Addison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2013, 12:03 PM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,055
Re: XDCAM EX in Premiere and After Effects CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitchell Lewis View Post
Been a long time since I posted to this forum. Glad to see it's still around. We've been using our EX3 camera and FCP for the last 3 years without a hitch. Never lost any footage or really had any problems. (hope I didn't just jinx myself by saying that)

But now we're slowly switching from FCP to Premiere on our Apple editing systems and that has created some problems.

Adobe doesn't seem to see the advantage of rewrapping XDCAM EX footage into MOV files like FCP did. They like to promote the fact that you can simply start editing. No converting necessary. This "feature" works great in Premiere because there is a built in Media Browser you can use to view your XDCAM EX footage without seeing all the crazy subfolders that make native XDCAM EX footage. But if you try and view the same footage in After Effects, if only gives you the option to import "clips". So for example if you want to import 30 clips into an AE project, you have to go into each BPAV sub folder and select them. This is a tedious and unnecessary process.

We don't want to transcode all the footage as this would talk many hours compared to simply re-wrapping it. We liked the rewrap feature built into FCP 7.0 where you'd end up with a bunch of MOV files. Is there a way to do this with Adobe CS 6 projects? Maybe with the Adobe Media Encoder?

Any advice would be appreciated.
Here's how I do it. Open Finder in MAC, or Explorer in PC, and conduct a search for the files by name prefix or even file extension. You can keep your search within BPAV so that the results are specific to the files from that shoot.

Once your search is completed (takes a few seconds) just highlight/select all the clips you like and simply drop them into your project area in AE, or Premiere.

Works like a charm.

;)
Dennis Hingsberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network