EX1 camera control? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2013, 11:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Heeney colorado
Posts: 103
EX1 camera control?

So it is very cold where I live here in Colorado at 8000 asl. Makes for some very clear skys for the 8" SCT telescope that I use with my Sony A-700 on a USB tether. I can control everything from my computer, telescope mount, focus, and camera exposure, shutter etc. I typically shoot in equatorial mount but I want to try putting the mount in altitude-azmuth mode and mount my EX1 opposite the scope. It would be great if I could control the EX1 exposure, frame rate, gain, frame accumulation, etc like the DSLR. Anybody think it could be done? Maybe through the USB/service port or something? I have the little remote for the EX1 but zoom will probably be the only function I would use since I will be recording through the SDI out to the computer.
Charles Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2013, 02:54 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: EX1 camera control?

Unfortunately there are no remote control options for the EX1 or EX1R beyond what can be done via the lens control port or IR remote.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2013, 06:21 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Heeney colorado
Posts: 103
Re: EX1 camera control?

That is to bad.

Alister, if you were to try to capture northern lights with an EX1, what settings would you start with?

I truly am bummed there is not some way to control the EX1, It seemed like a few years ago I used the service port to update the firmware on the camera. Has anyone fiddled with that particular port?
Charles Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2013, 04:29 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: EX1 camera control?

I did capture the Northern Lights with my EX1 and EX3 many times. I used interval record, 1 frame every second and the EX slow shutter at 16, 32 or 64 frames depending on the brightness of the display.

I've moved on now and use large sensor cameras which are much more sensitive for real-time Aurora and DSLR's for time-lapse. The PMW-F3 and F5 have enabled me to shoot the Aurora in real time without needing interval record.

I think only Sony have details of what data can be passed over the service port. I very much doubt it's worth the time and effort trying to reverse engineer the code, esp as this is now an end of line camera. From the PMW-200 on you have WiFi control.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network