change the shutter to 1/50 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2015, 06:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
change the shutter to 1/50

Hi, I have a Sony X160 and I would like to know how i change the shutter to 1/50. Is seems to be 1/60 and up , I have had it set to "speed" and PAL or NTSC no different. My X200 has 1/50 , 1/60 and so on, the Manual event shows the X160 has 1/50.
So the reason is i shoot footage for a Japanese Company In Australia, camera has to be set NTSC with a shutter of 1/50 to stop the lights flickering, has worked on the X200 for the past yr, yet i can't work this one out on the X160. Any one know ? Thx.,
(sorry for the double post in the wrong forum)
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2015, 04:05 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Hi Robert,
Just got my 160 yesterday so still sorting it out.
On body set Shutter to on.
In Menu- Camera - Shutter - Mode= Speed. Shutter Speed= 1/50.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2015, 07:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Hi, Yes I worked ok but it only has 1/60 ? I am not sure why ?
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2015, 07:21 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

That is strange, mine has all.
Maybe another menu setting that opens up more options?
Ill post back if I find it.
What Firmware version are you on? Im on V2
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 06:04 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,333
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

This is the most I could find.
Attached Thumbnails
change the  shutter to 1/50-screen-shot-2015-03-27-4.10.22-am.png  
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 09:09 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

This all I ses
Attached Thumbnails
change the  shutter to 1/50-image.jpg  
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 01:08 PM   #7
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

But if you go over the right-hand column and select where it says "1/60", what options then come up?
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 02:26 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 95
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

What is your recording Codec? I saw this happen (force minimum 1/60) on the x200 when I changed from xavc 1080p25 to xavc 1080p50...
Rob Hargreaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 03:25 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,333
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Maybe you have to select ECS frequency of 50.00? I couldn't get 1/30 on my X180 without using the 2 frame SLS mode. :-\

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 04:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Hargreaves View Post
What is your recording Codec? I saw this happen (force minimum 1/60) on the x200 when I changed from xavc 1080p25 to xavc 1080p50...
Ok, So I worked this out, if I set the camera to MPEG 422 / MPEG 420 I see the 1/50 option, but if I set it back to XAVC -L its only has 1/60 1/100 and so on. Hmm,,, I purchased to SXS cards so I can record at the cameras best, but can't shoot at 1/50 any one know why, hope sony can make this change in a Firmware future update if posable.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 05:05 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 95
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

I wonder if it's like the JVC 650 where "Shutter off" is actually 1/50???
Maybe do some tests and check what the metadata says in Catalyst Browse?
Rob Hargreaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 11:00 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 901
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Hi, I have a Sony X160 and I would like to know how i change the shutter to 1/50. Is seems to be 1/60 and up , I have had it set to "speed" and PAL or NTSC no different. My X200 has 1/50 , 1/60 and so on, the Manual event shows the X160 has 1/50.
A lot of cameras these days in 60Hz setting have a minimum shutter speed of 60th unless in slow shutter mode. If the camera is set for 50Hz shooting it will be a 50th. Plus I seem to recall that in the 160/180 manual under the 'Camera' menu under the menu item 'Auto Exposure' the 'Auto Shutter' setting must be set to OFF. Worth checking.

Also take note of the "depending on the frame frequency" comment on page #66 of the manual, at least that's the page here that says the following:

Set the shutter speed when Speed mode is selected. The
available setting values vary depending on the frame
frequency of the video format selected.

Shutter Speed
1/32, 1/33, 1/40, 1/48, 1/50,
1/60, 1/96, 1/100, 1/120, 1/125,
1/250, 1/500, 1/1000, 1/2000

Basically what we used to do was shoot 60th second on PAL cameras when in the States or if shooting here for US or Japanese clients in NTSC we used to shoot at 100th as that was twice the mains frequency. Either way you minimize the 10Hz flicker off-set.

This advice could be wrong but as I no longer have a 160 or 180 to physically check with I am just relying on the old grey matter and the PDF manual.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 11:15 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 901
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Hargreaves View Post
I wonder if it's like the JVC 650 where "Shutter off" is actually 1/50???
+1 Rob. I think you are 100% correct. That was the case on the x200 as well from memory.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2015, 11:27 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Dont think this is worth a new thread,
Just on my first full day with the x160, does anyone know why I can't get waveform to display with a HDMI monitor attached?
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2015, 12:07 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: change the shutter to 1/50

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Young View Post
Basically what we used to do was shoot 60th second on PAL cameras when in the States or if shooting here for US or Japanese clients in NTSC we used to shoot at 100th as that was twice the mains frequency. Either way you minimize the 10Hz flicker off-set.


Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
I had a look, at the Auto Exposure, and that is set to off, the other option is not a option as I am in a low light setting some times and 1/100 is to dark. I did see this option, but I am not sure if it will work, ECS Mode, See pic. I don't know enough, Its just a test and trial with this camera as i can't find a instructional Video for all the setting in the menu. Thanks for you help.
Attached Thumbnails
change the  shutter to 1/50-fullsizerender.jpg  
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network