New promo video XDCAM EX and XDCAM HD422 - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2007, 02:11 PM   #31
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Looking at the attached pic, I wonder: if one channel is set to internal, and the other to external, does the on-board stereo mic switch into mono mode, or simply feeds one channel only?

Also, no mention or picture of any other output but the FiWi and SDI... How do I connect to a lower -end field monitor with components-in only?
Attached Thumbnails
New promo video XDCAM EX and XDCAM HD422-xdcamex09.jpg  
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 05:07 PM   #32
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Smet View Post
Are you certain thats the way the EX will work however? The V1 for example does process in the DSP 1080p 60 before it converts it to 30p or 60i. Having a DSP that can either pump out 60i or 60p to record to 1080 or 720p means it may actually contain 1080 60p. From this stage the encoder and DSP could move to any of the desired recording formats such as 30p, 60i or 720p 60p with very little problems. If the slow motion on the Ex works the way the higher end cameras do then I think I would much rather shoot 720p 60p and do the slow motion myself. If I had to choose between a 1440x540 based image and a 1280x720 based image I would choose the 720p one. Unless of chourse SONY will be recording the 720p mode by just converting the 60i to 720p 60p which doesn't really make it all that special then. I sure hope the 720p mode is really 720p and not bobbed and downscaled 1080i.
The Sony Japan man at NAB did say "all frame rates from 1fps to 60fps", make of that what you will.
Bob Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2007, 05:17 PM   #33
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 86
I have only worked with consumer grade Sony cams, no XDCam stuff, and one thing I noticed was their high in-camera sharpening. It causes all kinds of artifacting, at least in HDV. I think it is why so many consumers like the look of Sony cams, but it causes problems. I hope we see something different here.
Thomas Barthle Jr. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 05:18 PM   #34
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Smet View Post
Are you certain thats the way the EX will work however? The V1 for example does process in the DSP 1080p 60 before it converts it to 30p or 60i. Having a DSP that can either pump out 60i or 60p to record to 1080 or 720p means it may actually contain 1080 60p. From this stage the encoder and DSP could move to any of the desired recording formats such as 30p, 60i or 720p 60p with very little problems. If the slow motion on the Ex works the way the higher end cameras do then I think I would much rather shoot 720p 60p and do the slow motion myself. If I had to choose between a 1440x540 based image and a 1280x720 based image I would choose the 720p one. Unless of chourse SONY will be recording the 720p mode by just converting the 60i to 720p 60p which doesn't really make it all that special then. I sure hope the 720p mode is really 720p and not bobbed and downscaled 1080i.
Since the bigger cameras don't do 720P, I can't comment on how that will be processed. It's very possible that you might get full vertical res for overcranking in 720p. It would be a lot like how the RED camera can do higher framerates at the expense of resolution to keep the datastream to a manageable size. That's really what it comes down go... how much data can the guts handle at a given moment. The more you increase that ability, the higher priced the components become, and hence the final selling price of the camera. So, to hit a price target from all the market research, designers have to make concessions here and there to get the most bang at the desired buck, so to speak.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 02:49 AM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston View Post
I strongly suspect 1440x1080. Pretty much the same chip as the full size 1/2 cameras.
I heard from someone that has a demo unit that they are NOT 1440x1080. That's all the info I could get out of him though. Wait...he did say the '1080' part was correct, so I am going to figure on 1920x1080...
Andrew Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 02:52 AM   #36
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Looking at the attached pic, I wonder: if one channel is set to internal, and the other to external, does the on-board stereo mic switch into mono mode, or simply feeds one channel only?
...and has anyone seen if there is a phantom power switch? I would assume there is phantom power, but figure the switch should be visible close to the audio controls.
Andrew Bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:02 AM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malta
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Bower View Post
...and has anyone seen if there is a phantom power switch? I would assume there is phantom power, but figure the switch should be visible close to the audio controls.
If you have a look at this picture you would see that there is a phantom power switch:

http://dvinfo.net/conf/attachment.ph...0&d=1176711806

This switch is usually placed near the audio inputs.

Brian
Brian Cassar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:17 AM   #38
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Frankly, I can only see the line-mic switches there - but they must be there somewhere, perhaps underneath...

My other doubt is about the LCD size; it looks quite small in proportion to the camera - so either the EX is really bulky, or Sony have chosen a screen size lower than the 3.5" (so far, standard on their pro hand-helds).
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:38 AM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malta
Posts: 306
If you look closely you'll see that it is a 3-way switch: line / mic / mic +48V for each of the 2 inputs. It's the same type of switch found on all shoulder mounted Sony cams.

Brian
Brian Cassar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 08:45 AM   #40
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Bower View Post
I heard from someone that has a demo unit that they are NOT 1440x1080. That's all the info I could get out of him though. Wait...he did say the '1080' part was correct, so I am going to figure on 1920x1080...
That's possible, but the native resolution of XDCAM HD is 1440x1080. They could oversample using higher res imagers, but for compatibility with existing XDCAM HD material, it should be 1440x1080 coming out.

That someone's initials wouldn't be JE would they?

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 11:26 PM   #41
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Medico View Post
In the video they also used the words NEW and LOW POWER when describing the imagers. That suggests CMOS could be a real possibility.
It appears that they are indeed using CMOS chips... if this qualifies as confirmation -- check this out: http://www.videomag.gr/cms/index.php...k=view&id=1263 -- note the "3CMOS" in that image?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2007, 11:33 PM   #42
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
It appears that they are indeed using CMOS chips... if this qualifies as confirmation -- check this out: http://www.videomag.gr/cms/index.php...k=view&id=1263 -- note the "3CMOS" in that image?
What I really notice is that this image is not the XDCAM HD EX. Note that the lens is not the full 3 ring Fujinon and the camera is labeled HD XMCAM.

This is an entirely new camera if it really exists.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2007, 12:19 AM   #43
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 276
Yes,

Many of the buttons are in different positions and it looks less complicated!

A cheaper version in beta form perhaps? Z1 type replacement?

Cheers Vaughan
Vaughan Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2007, 03:30 AM   #44
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 101
C'mon people, its a (crappy) vaporware mock up, don't belive everything you see on the net...
Jamie Allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2007, 04:00 AM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northampton, England
Posts: 500
That particular image is a concept mockup from an earlier stage of development.
__________________
Alex
Alex Leith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network