Are HDMI out and SDI out working simultaneously? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta
HD recording with a Super35 CMOS Sensor.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 25th, 2010, 04:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 51
Are HDMI out and SDI out working simultaneously?

can we use both for monitoring and out-board recording?

I've read somewhere they are switchable
Tony Partamian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 03:01 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
It's one or the other and not both together.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 03:41 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 51
that's bad.
So if we want to use the Ninja recorder wich only have one Hdmi input, we can't use the sdi out for monitoring.
We also have to take the right decision for monitoring or get a monitor with both hdmi and sdi
Tony Partamian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 04:46 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
mxo2 ...

humm ... will need a little help!
__________________
Sony EX3, Panasonic DVX 100, SG Blade, Nanoflash, FCP 7, MacBookPro intel.
http://www.deanharringtonvisual.com/
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 10:41 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Partamian View Post
that's bad.
So if we want to use the Ninja recorder wich only have one Hdmi input, we can't use the sdi out for monitoring.
We also have to take the right decision for monitoring or get a monitor with both hdmi and sdi
The HD SDI output can be split at the camera output and sent to multiple monitors.
The HDMI output can be split at the camera and sent to multiple devices.
Small HD DP 6 monitor has both HDMI and HD SDI inputs.
Bob Willis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 02:52 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 51
Using an active HDMI splitter on a camera is a hassle.
And the DP6 doesn't provide an HDMI pass-through.

I guess going with the KiPro mini and HD-SDI is better and specially for longer length monitoring and recording.
Tony Partamian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 06:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tinton Falls, NJ
Posts: 749
And of course the NanoFlash can take either HD-SDI or HDMI as an input, while outputting both HD-SDI and HDMI simultaneously.
Dave Sperling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 07:55 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
nanoflash ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Sperling View Post
And of course the NanoFlash can take either HD-SDI or HDMI as an input, while outputting both HD-SDI and HDMI simultaneously.
This is another solution but at a cost ... I have the nanoflash and use it with my EX3 religiously however, there is another lower cost solution if you don't want to go that route (AJA KI Pro mini and ninja excluded) and that is the MXO2 mini for about $500.
__________________
Sony EX3, Panasonic DVX 100, SG Blade, Nanoflash, FCP 7, MacBookPro intel.
http://www.deanharringtonvisual.com/
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2010, 01:12 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 51
10 bit is a minimum nowadays specially if you're investing now.
I work in pro-res all day and love it but hate to carry a pack of compact flash and transfer one by one to the mac...
The ninja seemed great but lack ins and outs.
I guess i'll wait for the new 10 bit generation in 2 month.
Maybe if Blackmagic could read and come-up with a device with dual recording (CF and HardDrive) and with 10 bit pro-res and Xdcam.
Tony Partamian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 03:13 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
It's one or the other and not both together.
Where did you hear this info? I've been to all the CineAlta meetings and I never heard that it was limited to either or...
Giuseppe Pugliese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2010, 04:15 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
It's in the menus. You can select either HDMI or SDI but not both. The F3 uses many of the same processing and output components as the the EX1R/PMW-350 and these have the same limitation.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2011, 12:27 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Parkland Florida
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Partamian View Post
10 bit is a minimum nowadays specially if you're investing now.
I work in pro-res all day and love it but hate to carry a pack of compact flash and transfer one by one to the mac...
The ninja seemed great but lack ins and outs.
I guess i'll wait for the new 10 bit generation in 2 month.
Maybe if Blackmagic could read and come-up with a device with dual recording (CF and HardDrive) and with 10 bit pro-res and Xdcam.
What about the AJA KI Pro? I has a hard-drive and an SSD option as well?
Ron Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2011, 07:22 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Partamian View Post
10 bit is a minimum nowadays specially if you're investing now.
I work in pro-res all day and love it but hate to carry a pack of compact flash and transfer one by one to the mac...
The ninja seemed great but lack ins and outs.
I guess i'll wait for the new 10 bit generation in 2 month.
Maybe if Blackmagic could read and come-up with a device with dual recording (CF and HardDrive) and with 10 bit pro-res and Xdcam.
The Ninja can only record 8 bits of info because ALL HDMI camera outputs are 8bit only.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2011, 04:38 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Kalle View Post
The Ninja can only record 8 bits of info because ALL HDMI camera outputs are 8bit only.
Their website says 10bit, and HDMI supports all the way 16bit RGB. I take it you've tested the Ninja and determined they are wrong, as well as testing ALL HDMI outputs from ALL cameras to confirm they are 8bit :D
__________________
www.davidwilliams.com.au
David C. Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2011, 06:14 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
It's in the menus. You can select either HDMI or SDI but not both. The F3 uses many of the same processing and output components as the the EX1R/PMW-350 and these have the same limitation.
I have met with Sony in NYC yesterday and I specifically asked about this: Their answer was direct. That is only because it was a pre-production model and they do not know yet if they will both work at the same time, they are still developing it.

So it seems to me like they are working on getting both streams at the same time, but again he specifically said do not go by what the capabilities of the pre-production models have... It very well could change.

And also he stated most likely 10bit for HDMI.

Heres a link to all the rest of the answered questions from the "meeting":

http://gpcinematography.blogspot.com...arding-f3.html



Happy New Year!
Giuseppe Pugliese is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network