S Log Exposure/LUTs at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta
HD recording with a Super35 CMOS Sensor.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2011, 11:54 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 15
S Log Exposure/LUTs

The in built LUTs affect the zebras and brightness readings on the F3 viewfinder and LCD. When using the LUTs and recording the 444 S log output, how do you judge correct exposure in the camera? Is the only way with an external 444 waveform monitor?
It would be great to be able to send the LUT out of the SDI and still view the full S Log image in LCD or viewfinder of the camera.
For example, if you expose S Log so that it just reaches 100%, then turn on a LUT, the camera would have to be stop down further to hold the same highlight information. So if you make eposure judgments with the LUTs on you could be sacrificing latitude.
How is everyone judging exposure with SLog?
Tony Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

The histogram is not effected by the LUT's.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2011, 03:11 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 15
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

Thanks Alister,

I will check that out. Although the histogram is not my favorite exposure tool.
Tony Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 09:13 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

Oops. I got that one wrong. I checked today and LUT's do change the Histogram. Sorry my bad.

Of course.... if you have a Convergent Design Gemini you can add a LUT to you monitor out with that.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 04:00 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 15
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

It's a pitty as it does make the in built LUTs in the camera less use full. Not being able to correctly monitor exposure at the camera will make the LUTs useless to me. I will just have to use monitors with a LUT. Hopefully Sony make make a change to that in a firmware upgrade.
Tony Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 05:46 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 62
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

If I recall the v1.3 firmware later this year will let you get S-Log out of A and a LUT out of B.
Duke Marsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 01:38 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,684
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

How does the LUT affect zebras on the Flip out viewfinder?
If zebras incorporate the LUT then it should be useable for setting exposure as long as you understand what the LUT is doing and how much additional latitude you actually have in sLog.
I never look at histograms anyway.
Leonard Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2011, 07:23 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 62
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

The zebra would have to go down to about 40 to be accurate on white skin, and it only goes down to 50.
Duke Marsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2011, 07:33 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: S Log Exposure/LUTs

It wouldn't always go down that far. It will depend on your overall scene. A WFM or Histogram is more suited to S-Log exposure as this allows you to see your entire exposure range thus lets you choose how you expose. You don't want to always under expose. If your scene is a low key scene then you can afford to expose with higher levels than a high key scene. Under exposing and then lifting in post will increase noise which is normally undesirable.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network