S-Log and Slomo at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta
HD recording with a Super35 CMOS Sensor.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2012, 06:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
S-Log and Slomo

Wondering if anyone else has already tackled this with an easy solution. I got the upgrade to use S-Log on a night shoot, though the shoot went well and ultimately I got things looking right in post I hadn't realized until afterwards that S-Log doesn't work on slomo. Quite the little surprise. Has anyone made a picture profile that approximates the look of S-Log in these situations? Or is there some other better way to deal with this?

Thanks in advance!

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 246
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Did you come out of the SDI-A output to an external recorder? If you come out of the SDI MON output and have the monitoring LUT turned off, you get S-log 720P just fine.
__________________
Peter Corbett
Powerhouse Productions www.php.com.au
Peter Corbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2012, 06:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Sorry, should have mentioned I was/am recording straight to SxS.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 12:54 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Drachten, Netherlands
Posts: 179
Re: S-Log and Slomo

huh?? S-log to Sxs internal? Is that possible?
I don't think so.
Ron Aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 04:15 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Aerts View Post
huh?? S-log to Sxs internal? Is that possible?
I don't think so.
Yes it is, it's easy.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 04:30 AM   #6
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Aerts View Post
huh?? S-log to Sxs internal? Is that possible?
I don't think so.
Yeah, it's possible. But not advised. If you're only going to record to the SxS cards, then you'd be a lot better off using a nice Picture Profile that won't require any extensive grading. To get the most out of S-LOG you really need at least a 10bit 4:2:2 recorder.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 12:24 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Appreciate the advice and to some degree Doug your reply is the answer that I'm looking for but minus the details, a picture profile that will emulate the look of S-Log for use in Slomo.

I've been working with the camera for a good long time now and though you or someone else smarter than I may have crunched some numbers that imply otherwise, to my eye S-Log even when just recording to the SxS card the image does have more latitude to it. And I certainly don't mind a little CC, in this day and age it seems pretty rare that footage doesn't get treated to some degree or another regardless. And I've always been one of those that shoots flat rather then risk baked in looks that I may or may not want to stick with in post.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 01:17 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Firmware version 1.4 will allow you to use S-Log as a gamma curve which of course can then be used at any frame rate or shooting mode. Shouldn't have to wait too much longer!

I can't recommend S-Log for 8 bit either. Standard gammas give you about 25 grey shades per stop, S-log at 8 bit reduces that to about 18. Of course you can use s-Log like a conventional gamma and over expose it, but in doing so you loose much of the advantage it's supposed to bring. Correct S-Log exposure is about 1.5 to 2 stops lower than conventional gamma. That's how you gain the extra headroom. However it will look underexposed on a monitor that doesn't have S-log gamma.

If your not exposing S-Log correctly and exposing it like a conventional gamma then you don't gain much headroom and as Doug said would probably be better off using a cinegamma, especially if recording to 8 bit.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 12:44 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Just following up, did the 1.4 update ever get released? Not sure where to check on this.

Thanks!

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 02:08 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Parkland Florida
Posts: 407
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Jensen View Post
Yeah, it's possible. But not advised. If you're only going to record to the SxS cards, then you'd be a lot better off using a nice Picture Profile that won't require any extensive grading. To get the most out of S-LOG you really need at least a 10bit 4:2:2 recorder.

Despite the lack of advantage of S-log recorded to SxS, am I correct in my understanding that any LUT engaged and thus passing through the SDI monitor port will be baked into the SxS recording as well?
Ron Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 02:09 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Wilk View Post
Despite the lack of advantage of S-log recorded to SxS, am I correct in my understanding that any LUT engaged and thus passing through the SDI monitor port will be baked into the SxS recording as well?
Yes, that is correct.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 02:26 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
Posts: 22
Re: S-Log and Slomo

In answer to Ray's question, yes, version 1.4 was released and S-log is available as a gamma curve in your picture profiles now.

Firmware Version 1.4: Sony | Micro Site XDCAM
Joseph Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2012, 05:54 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: S-Log and Slomo

So finally got the update but confused. SLog is indeed available now in S&Q motion BUT even though in S&Q Motion as 1280/23.98 it won't let me go 60/24, only 30/24.

Anyone have a clue why? This seems to be only when SLog is enabled. I can do 60/24 when it off.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2012, 06:47 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
Re: S-Log and Slomo

The f3 doesn't do 1080p60 internally and it only it with full slog upgrade out through dual link.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2012, 07:03 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 162
Images: 3
Re: S-Log and Slomo

Well I had paid for the full upgrade but not sure if there was a separate one for those of us who paid, the 1.4 I got was from the link above. I'm aware it won't do 1080 but as I mentioned, this is 1280/23.98.

- Ray
__________________
www.undergroundplanet.com
Raymond Schlogel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PMW-F3 CineAlta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network