Editing FS7 footage in Premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5
Super 35 CMOS recording 4K to XQD media cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2015, 10:35 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

I've done a couple of jobs so far for clients with my new FS7, giving them the files after shoot. We haven't
captured any of it yet, but will have to do so with footage I'll be shooting this week end. In the mean time, I shot some stuff for a pbs station with both the FS100 and Fs7, and gave them the footage. No problem bringing fs100 files right into premiere, but they can't do anything with the fs7 clips.
I shot in custom, 30fps, 35 mbs.
I see on Doug Jensen's tutorial that Sony has a couple of content management programs for dealing with fs7 footage. Also did a google search and found reccomendations for a utility program called "Borosoft".
I need to come up with a solution ASAP so that the station can edit the files. Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Bruce Yarock

Last edited by Bruce S. Yarock; February 13th, 2015 at 10:36 AM. Reason: Spelling
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 11:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Is it XAVC-L 1080p? Convert it to XDCAM HD422 in Catalyst. (ProRes has a gamma shift in Catalyst) In future, use XAVC-I 1080p for now since none of the NLEs support XAVC-L.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 12:01 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Thanks, Jack
We shot it in L, not I. We'll try your suggestion.
Do you know off hand how many minutes I can get on a 64 gig card if I'm shooting in L as opposed to I?
I have a concert this week end and there are two performances, each two hours long. I have 2 x 64 gig cards so far.
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 12:03 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

What I meant to ask was if I shoot in I instead of L, how many minutes can I get on the 64 gig card?
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 12:34 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

At 30p, it's 100Mbps vs what you were shooting at 35mbps. You get 60mins for a 64GB card vs 220mins at 35mbps.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 03:22 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Jack
Would you have a few minutes to talk on the phone? We've tried several options and still can't get clips playing correctly.
If you email your number or call me, I'll call back.
Thanks
Bruce Yarock
Yarock@aol.com
954-431-0940 h
954-610-4325 cell
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 07:48 PM   #7
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

If they are using the latest version of Premiere they should not need any 3rd party software, transcoding to another format, or any of Sony's utilities. Just transfer the XDROOT folder to a HDD and then import normally into Premiere. Simple!

If they are not using the latest version of Premiere, tell them to upgrade.

http://www.vortexmedia.com/DVD_FS7.html


.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2015, 05:45 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Doug,
We spent the whole day trying with premiere CS6, and couldn't get it to work. We do have the latest version of CS6. later In the day I spoke to a local friend who has been shooting with the FS7, and successfully editing in Premiere. He told me that they're using Premiere CC, so I assume that's what we need. They are using CC on Mac, while we're on PC, but that shouldn't matter, right?
If that's what we need, we'll get the cloud version of CC today.
Thanks
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2015, 09:56 AM   #9
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Saying that someone has the latest version of Premiere 6 is like saying they have all the updates for Windows 95. :-)
That software is at least two years out of date and will never handle the latest codecs that have only been around for a few months.
I use CC on a Mac and I can edit natively with every codec the FS7 puts out, so have them upgrade. It's well worth whatever Adobe charges for the subscription.

Doug Jensen's Sony PXW-FS7 Master Class

.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2015, 08:15 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

We got CC and everything is working fine.
Finally.
Thanks
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2015, 08:21 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

so what about fcp? i have version 7.0.3
Jerry Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2015, 10:37 AM   #12
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Yes, you should upgrade to FCPX or (even better) Premiere CC.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2015, 08:16 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

thanks doug
Jerry Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 09:31 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 489
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

For FCP7 - Catalyst Browse, or, as of last week, EditReady (a $49 app from divergentmedia.com, the ClipWrap company) will transcode XAVC-L to ProRes.

FCPX requires the same workflow for now, but Sony is on record that native import will be enabled soon either via a plugin from Sony or an FCPX update.
David Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2015, 10:21 AM   #15
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Editing FS7 footage in Premiere

Just be aware that transcoding takes up time and the ProRes files will be 4-6x larger than the originals.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network