Using Canon lenses on FS7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5
Super 35 CMOS recording 4K to XQD media cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 20th, 2015, 12:17 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tiburon CA
Posts: 122
Using Canon lenses on FS7

I have been using Canon lenses on the FS700 and a Metabones adapter with no problems.

I am seeing, however, that this combo has problems on the FS7.

Has Metabones updated their adapters so they work with Canon lenses on the FS7?
Bob Prichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2015, 05:52 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 126
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

I received a new Metabones adapter with the purchase of my FS7 (the promotion ends March 31).

I have used it on my camera with a Canon lens and a Sigma lens with no problems.

Perhaps the older versions won't work right, I can't say, but the new one I was given works fine on my camera.

Hope that helped...
__________________
Brian Mills, Videographer/Editor
www.gordovideo.com
Brian Mills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2015, 10:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tiburon CA
Posts: 122
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Brian,

Is there a model number on your Metabones adapter?

Does it have a lens inside?
Bob Prichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2015, 07:17 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

I have the Mk1, it works on the FS7 .
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2015, 02:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 355
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

I emailed MetaBones with this question and they didn't even respond. They state on their website that they won't respond to questions that are covered in their FAQ but apparently they have stretched that definition. I personally think it's plain rude not to respond to potential customers, whatever their question. If someone considers spending hundreds of dollars in your shop you don't even bother to answer a question?
__________________
www.imaginevideo.nl Just published the second of my viral mini-doc series '100'
https://youtu.be/ZqHFBrV-oOc
Jeroen Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2015, 11:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tiburon CA
Posts: 122
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

I carefully read their FAQ, and apparently you have to remove the Metabones adapter from the camera each time you change the lens.

On my FS700, I can leave the Metabones adapter on the camera and simply change the lens and the adapter works just fine.

It seems to me that Metabones has not worked out the bugs on its adapter for the FS7. To have to remove it every time I change a lens is a big nuisance.

Until they work out this problem, I will look for another 4K video camera as I have too much invested in Canon lenses.
Bob Prichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2015, 12:24 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 355
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Considering the massive price drop on the Canon C300, NAB should see some nice additions to the Canon cinema lineup: C400 K?
__________________
www.imaginevideo.nl Just published the second of my viral mini-doc series '100'
https://youtu.be/ZqHFBrV-oOc
Jeroen Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2015, 04:56 PM   #8
Austinite
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Austin
Posts: 537
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Latest adapter from MetaBones is the mark4. Rebate at first was for the mark2 but then it changed to the mark4.
Phil Goetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2015, 09:46 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

When using a Canon lens, say the 24-105mm, is there any change in the angle of view on the FS7?
Also, with these Metabones adapters, does auto-focus work on Canon lenses?

Mark
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2015, 02:39 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Mark ,
It depends on which Metabones adapter you have and which Canon Lenses. Many people seem to like the 24 to 105 with the Metabones Speedbooster adapter to preserve angle of view. This works with Canon Full Frame lenses but not with the EF S lenses. The EF S lenses work on the FS 7 with the standard Metabones adapter. Here are links to the two different Metabones models

Metabones®


Metabones®
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2015, 10:30 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Dan,
Thanks for the reply. The whole lens situation is my main concern with this camera. Looks like I could make use of all the Canon glass I have, but from what I've been reading, I expect I'll need to get weaned off the servo zoom and just go manual. I'd like to have auto-focus (continuous) though so I'm not trying to manipulate two rings. Sounds like any auto-focus I get will be a little slow with those adapters.

Mark
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 10:17 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 31
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

I am purchasing a Sony FS5. I have several Canon EF lenses I want to adapt to the Sony E-mount camera. My question is will I have to use the crop mode on the sony with the speed booster? Or will the image cover the super 35 format without vignetting?

Can the non speed booster EF to E-mount cover the super 35mm format of the FS5.

thanks

scott
Scott Hepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 12:19 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 126
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

The Sony FS7 and FS5 are both super 35 sensors, which are pretty much APS-C sized.

I use Canon lenses (full frame and APS-C) on my FS7 with a normal Metabones adaptor, and they work ok.

If you get the Speedbooster, you can then use full frame lenses (the 24-105L for example) and get that nice full field-of-view (and a stop of light!).

Either way, you will NOT need to go into crop mode.

I never see any vignetting using fullframe glass on the APS-C sensor, however if you use APS-C glass on the camera OR full frame glass with a Speedbooster, you MAY see some vignetting, depending on the lens itself (there are PLENTY of lens reviews out there, just do some research before buying).

I recommend either the 17-55 Canon APS-C or the 24-105L (on a Speedbooster) if you do a lot of run-and gun, I find those zoom ranges to be a "sweet spot" for that type of shooting (IMO).
__________________
Brian Mills, Videographer/Editor
www.gordovideo.com
Brian Mills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:39 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 31
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Brian, thanks for the info. It is a bit confusing for me.
In a perfect world I would get my Canon glass on that FS5 with the speed booster without vignetting. When you say "OR full frame glass with a Speedbooster, you MAY see some vignetting" what exactly do you mean? It is my understanding that super 35mm is a bit larger than APS-C which is where my concern lies. I do have the 24-105L but I think I am going to get sony's kit lens with the FS5 which is similar, but what I want to get on there is my 14mmL and the 70-200 and my 300 2.8, but if they vignette with the speed booster then I can just do the standard metabones adaptor and go from there, but then I loose that wide angle that I want.
Thanks
Scott
Scott Hepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2015, 06:00 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 126
Re: Using Canon lenses on FS7

Some zoom lenses vignette at their widest, which is why I always read reviews for a lens before I try it out.

But with a Speedbooster, your effective sensor size is full frame, so what you see on a 5D for example is what you would see on the F5.

In a non-Speedbooster situation, yes Super 35 is 24.6mm wide vs. 22.4 on a Canon APS-C, but most lenses will not vignette any more on the Sony than what you see on a Canon, in my experience (I admittedly haven't tried EVERY Canon lens on the Sony).
__________________
Brian Mills, Videographer/Editor
www.gordovideo.com
Brian Mills is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network