Controlling FS5 with smartphone - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5
Super 35 CMOS recording 4K to XQD media cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2016, 04:28 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 286
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Can see this being useful if you have it as a secondary unmanned camera. Just being able to see that it's still recording and that nobody's knocked it off position...
I wanted this for my A7s as I sometimes have it as an unmanned b-camera. And would be great if I could start/stop remotely because of the 29:50 time limit. But read somewhere it only works in standard gamma when controlled remotely so haven't bothered.
If the FS5 can be in any mode and monitored and started/stopped remotely that is already a step up ;)
__________________
Sony FS700R (3.10), A7S (2.00), FCPX
Sony SEL 35, 50, 18-105mm, Samyang 16 & 35mm cine
Dmitri Zigany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2016, 06:00 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Posts: 105
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

I was hoping it worked like my GH4 app where I can control the camera including aperture and Focus if i have an auto lens on it. I film myself often in a run and gun situations, while flipping the monitor could be a solution, most of the time, I'm too far away to see my exposure and focus.
Brian Chow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2016, 07:40 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Posts: 341
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

You can control focus and zoom. Don't think aperature was an option.
Dave Mercer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2016, 08:46 PM   #19
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Aperture is an option with the right lens. But you can't see zebras or anything else that would help you set the correct exposure. And the video streaming to the mobile device doesn't look very good, do it'd be a crap shoot to set exposure via Wi-Fi. I would recommend running a video cable to a real monitor if possible, and just using the Wi-Fi for actual control.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2016, 02:28 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmitri Zigany View Post
Can see this being useful if you have it as a secondary unmanned camera. Just being able to see that it's still recording and that nobody's knocked it off position...
Yes. At a conference where the second camera is locked off but for whatever reason you just want a quick check to see its all OK. Usually I have to leg it around the room but a quick check on the phone just to check its still recording and framed would be great.

Also the occasions where you are setting up for an interview and you end up squinting at the viewfinder just to check the framing is roughly right. Or CSO work where you just want to check where the edge of frame is, yet again without having to squint at the LCD.

Perhaps its useless, perhaps the range is rubbish, who knows? I will be interested to see how it works in the real world. It is neither a feature I purchased the camera for or wish to rely on. But I can see the potential uses.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2016, 08:08 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Posts: 105
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

OK, I found out how to monitor the FS5 after some fiddling. I will agree its pretty useless as even if I walk less than 10 ft away, it loses the connection which makes it very useless. It thought the GH4 wifi was weak but this takes the case.
Brian Chow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2016, 06:00 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Just an update on this. Yep, tried to use it in anger today and its useless even as a confidence monitor for quickly checking the camera is ok. At they bare minimum they need to get the histogram, focus peaking and VU's onto the phone display. With those two things at least I'd be be able to see if things are OK at a glance.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2016, 06:20 PM   #23
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,484
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Told you so. :-)
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2016, 10:13 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 175
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

This application is great for me,I put the camera on the crane and so they control enough..I use another application like this for A7S :-)
Docea Marius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2016, 12:04 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

I suppose I could see it being useful on a jib or something but you'd need to set the camera first as the display is useless for judging anything.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2016, 12:31 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands
Posts: 294
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

Even if it is only good enough to start and stop recording I'd be happy.
That means that a gimbal operator doesn't have to worry about that when a director or remote operator can press record. In my experience using 1 hand to press the rec button is what makes gimbals heavier...
The image wll be seen on a monitor anyway.
__________________
Brainstormnavigator searching for the hole in the sky.....
Audiovisual Designer (NL) - http://www.brokxmedia.nl
Walter Brokx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2016, 01:22 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 175
Re: Controlling FS5 with smartphone

inside, in standard lighting conditions..is perfect this app.
Docea Marius is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network