FS5 + Ronin-M at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5
Super 35 CMOS recording 4K to XQD media cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 11th, 2016, 06:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
FS5 + Ronin-M

Hi all,

I'm just wondering if anyone has had any luck using their FS5 with a DJI Ronin-M. Is it too big? What lenses work? Any samples of the results?

Any info would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers,
Jody
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2016, 10:14 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: pinole, ca
Posts: 8
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

hey jody --
i've used it with the sony pancake wide angle (w/ adapter), & a samsung 12mm,
both worked great.
i love being able to take off the lcd & put it on the ronin, saves having to buy a separate monitor!
i'll try & put up some sample footage soon.....
Theo Dilworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2016, 03:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Posts: 745
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theo Dilworth View Post
hey jody --
i've used it with the sony pancake wide angle (w/ adapter), & a samsung 12mm,
both worked great.
i love being able to take off the lcd & put it on the ronin, saves having to buy a separate monitor!
i'll try & put up some sample footage soon.....
Thanks for that Theo. Where on the Ronin did you mount the LCD? Did you use some sort of grip?

I just picked up the Ronin-M and I'm finding it very difficult to balance with the stock lens - I think it's just too big. So I might pick up a pancake lens of some sort.

Good to know it can be done! I'm just flying with my 70D at the moment.
Jody Arnott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2016, 03:55 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 175
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

i use FS5+10-18 sony,is perfect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody Arnott View Post
Hi all,

I'm just wondering if anyone has had any luck using their FS5 with a DJI Ronin-M. Is it too big? What lenses work? Any samples of the results?

Any info would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers,
Jody
Docea Marius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2016, 02:02 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South NJ US
Posts: 138
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

I do not own the 18-105 but I think I read (can't find it now) you may need the the BP-U60 battery the 30 is a bit light and that set up needs some counter weight for perfect balance. I will post pics of the Sony LCD mounted to the Ronin M latter, I used the overpriced DJI bar mount because I may also want to mount the Shogun at some point and didn't want to cheap out

also its your first time balancing a gimbal you may just need some practice... its awkward at first then all the sudden starts taking a couple minutes is all.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody Arnott View Post
Thanks for that Theo. Where on the Ronin did you mount the LCD? Did you use some sort of grip?

I just picked up the Ronin-M and I'm finding it very difficult to balance with the stock lens - I think it's just too big. So I might pick up a pancake lens of some sort.

Good to know it can be done! I'm just flying with my 70D at the moment.
Ray Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2016, 10:25 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: pinole, ca
Posts: 8
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jody Arnott View Post
Thanks for that Theo. Where on the Ronin did you mount the LCD? Did you use some sort of grip?

I just picked up the Ronin-M and I'm finding it very difficult to balance with the stock lens - I think it's just too big. So I might pick up a pancake lens of some sort.

Good to know it can be done! I'm just flying with my 70D at the moment.
hey jody --
i cobbled a mount together on the crossbar using this guy:
http://www.amazon.com/Release-Handle...ilpage_o09_s00
(took off the upper gopro mount & epoxied a 1/4" nut onto it to screw the lcd mount into it)....
& ray's suggestion on using different sized batteries to counterbalance is right on the money as well.
hope this helps!
Theo Dilworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2016, 11:02 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 62
Re: FS5 + Ronin-M

I've been using the fs5 + ronin m with the sony zeiss 16-35. It works pretty decently with with AF and an f-stop of f8. I have the camera completely striped down and also a manfroto quick release system. Minimum f4 for lowlight leaves a little to be desired though, I'm looking for something faster with a good hyper focal distance. The canon 11-24+ speedbooster looks interesting but very expensive at $3k.
Alexandru Cristescu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network