DSE on FS5? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5
Super 35 CMOS recording 4K to XQD media cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 19th, 2016, 04:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London
Posts: 241
DSE on FS5?

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this? If I pan my FS5 across a light coloured and well lit surface/scene (eg a bright but cloud covered sky) I get very slight imperfections in the image, almost like the Dirty Screen Effect found on some LCD TV's.

It happens with all my lenses, and thus is further back in the body. To be honest you can't see it in most none uniform shooting scenarios (which is 99% of what I'd shoot), so it hasn't really bothered me. Just wondered if it is an imperfection in my camera alone or is more common?
__________________
www.ndavey.co.uk

Last edited by Nigel Davey; April 19th, 2016 at 05:59 PM.
Nigel Davey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2016, 12:47 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,040
Re: DSE on FS5?

Are you on the latest firmware...I think it's 1.11.

Weird stuff fixed I'd latest firmware.
Cliff Totten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2016, 02:37 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London
Posts: 241
Re: DSE on FS5?

Yes, thanks Cliff. Something I didn't say in my original post is the imperfections are a bit like an out of focus blotch that stays in the same place in the image as you pan.

Maybe next time FS5 users are on a shoot and there's an overcast sky they could try a quick pan across it and see if they get the same.
__________________
www.ndavey.co.uk
Nigel Davey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2016, 02:10 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: DSE on FS5?

Are you sure it's not dirt on the sensor? Because it sounds like dirt on the sensor.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2016, 02:40 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,067
Re: DSE on FS5?

If you point it to the sky and underexposue the image as much as you can then dirt on the sensor becomes better visible, I also think it's dirt on the sensor the way you describe it.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2016, 03:44 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London
Posts: 241
Re: DSE on FS5?

Thanks guys. You may be right. The only thing that seems unusual is the 'blotch' is longer than the more conventional out of focus specs you see on a dirty sensor.

I realise the easiest thing is if I just show you a video clip of it. I did have a good one but deleted it a while back. I'll try and get another in the next few days and post it.

Incidentally how would you go about cleaning a sensor on the FS5? I assume it sits behind the electronic ND and is inaccessible.
__________________
www.ndavey.co.uk
Nigel Davey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2016, 04:15 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Re: DSE on FS5?

If...and I'm no Sony sensor expert...but if your FS5 has a dirty sensor then that would be a Sony warranty job. I think I read/heard somewhere (Alister Chapman - possibly?) that the sensor sits in a sealed unit behind the protective screen that you see when you take a lens off, and the ND system sits inside that too. I understand it is not open to the elements/air from the vents on the camera body. The fan just draws air from the ventilation grill, over a heat exchanger surface that encompasses the sensor. (I imagine the surface has fins to increase surface area).

Like I said, I'm no expert... but IF you have a dirty sensor then it must have left the factory that way in which case I'd expect Sony to rectify it ASAP and at no cost under warranty. After all, how could you have made the sensor dirty, and on such a new camera too?

As an aside, I think Canon had an issue early on with the original C300 and they modified the design (even recalling some very early serial numbers, I think) to ensure the sensor block was sealed properly and not exposed to dust ingress from the vents/fan (it's a while back but that's how I remember it).

So, let's see a demo clip and those that know a lot more than me can then tell you if that is indeed the problem with your particular FS5.
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2016, 08:50 AM   #8
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,483
Re: DSE on FS5?

I very much doubt he has dust on the sensor itself. More likely it is on the glass in front of the sensor.
So if you let the glass in front of the sensor get dirty, how is that a warranty issue? How is that Sony's fault? You clean it yourself and move on. No matter how careful you are, it is something that needs to be done occasionally depending how frequently, where, how, etc. you change lenses. I wouldn't send a lens back to Canon when it had to be cleaned. It's normal.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2016, 09:21 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,067
Re: DSE on FS5?

That's what I meant, dirt/dust always sticks onto whatever is covering/protecting the actual sensor, so the part you see and can reach to clean. If cleaning that part doesn't help then it's time to send the camera body in and who knows, if you are lucky it might get cleaned for free.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2016, 09:31 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Re: DSE on FS5?

I was assuming Nigel had already cleaned that bit of protective glass (inside where the lens mount is) and what he was talking about was dirt actually on the sensor, well behind that....As you say, the exterior glass is just something that needs to be cleaned occasionally.
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2016, 01:18 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tinton Falls, NJ
Posts: 749
Re: DSE on FS5?

Dirt directly on the sensor should be fairly sharp - not soft as described. The distance from the protective glass to the sensor makes dirt specks much softer. Of course if you put on a wide angle lens and stop it down that will make anything on the glass more noticeable. Ideally you would be able to remove most dust specks with a simple air blower bulb.
Dave Sperling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony Digital Cinema Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM PXW-FS7 / FS5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network