Steadicam Pilot - Getting Started Q & A - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #91
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Can I power EX1 from Pilot batteries?

I know that guys have been trying to power f.store from VL battery power, but I wonder if anybody tried to power the camera from the pilot battery, I have VL (IDX) version, and one battery is good for powering just a monitor for about 6 hours, I'd be happy if I could power EX1 from the same battery, even if it'll be just a couple hours, but the thing is E-7S batteries are 14.4v and the EX1 takes 12v, does that make it too complicated?
any thoughts would be really helpful.
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 04:47 PM   #92
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
The standard Sony BP-U30 and U60 batteries for the EX1 are nominally 14.4 just like the E-7S. You should have no problem powering the EX1 from that battery.

Thanks to the push-on power connectors on both the Pilot and the EX1, this would be a very simple cable to connect the two. I'm not sure if anyone is making them yet (Tiffen should be) but if you had access to a half-decent electronics store that has a variety of those connectors, it would be an easy home-build cable if you have the inclination.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 08:45 PM   #93
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
wow, that would be awesome, thank you Charles,
I'm not a very handy man, so probably I will get a professional help,
will post the results :)
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 04:17 AM   #94
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Papert View Post
...home-build...

Love the use of those two words, CP ;) HA HA
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 08:34 AM   #95
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Steadicam newbie practice partners

Any Steadicam newbies looking to pair up with another Steadicam newbie for a practice partner, see here:
SteadicamForum.com - A Community of Motion Picture Camera Stabilization Specialists
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2008, 11:27 PM   #96
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Papert View Post
Thanks to the push-on power connectors on both the Pilot and the EX1, this would be a very simple cable to connect the two. ...
Charles , thanks again
wasn't too complicated and it works great, got the sony 12v power adapter from ebay, cut the connector, soldered with the one that came with the pilot,
wow I am a handy man :)
Sunday have to shoot, will check for how long EX1 and the monitor will run on fully charged E-7S
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2008, 11:00 AM   #97
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buba Kastorski View Post
got the sony 12v power adapter from ebay
Can you give a link for the ebay page? Do you know if the same 12v power connector works on the EX3? I might have to make me one of these also...
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 05:23 PM   #98
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gish View Post
Can you give a link for the ebay page? Do you know if the same 12v power connector works on the EX3? I might have to make me one of these also...
Hey Dave,
sent you an email with the link,
I don't have EX3, but I'm 99% sure it has the same as EX1 power connector,
did some shooting today, powered EX1 and the pilot monitor from the same E-7S,
after 3 hrs non sop, battery still shows like 60%, (two lights out of three)
not too bad :)
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2008, 06:19 PM   #99
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Use BNC or Video Out Connector on XH-A1?

The photos on Charles Papert's review of the Steadicam Pilot appear to show the BNC connector on the XH-A1 connected to the Pilot's monitor input. Is this how everyone else connects up the monitor, or do you go via the video-out plug on the back of the camera? Is there a benefit to using one over the other? Is the BNC wired the same as the video-out plug (basically tip to tip, ring to ring)?
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 08:20 AM   #100
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
bump..........
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 07:30 PM   #101
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
After adding a new accessory to my camera i of course had to readjust my balance. When i was playing with the stage adjustment i heard what sounded ALOT like sand or dirt in a lens.. we all know the sound.

I thought at first that somehow i'd managed to get along the back and forward and side to side adjustment tracks on the stage.. upon taking the top plate off the stage i discovered it was actually the screw that was holding my Manfrotto QR plate that was the problem.

The bottom of it, where the slot for your flathead screwdriver goes into was rubbing against the where the top of the post meets the stage.. No real damage has been done apart from a couple scratches so all good.

I went back and found the screw that came with the pilot and noticed that the flat part is a lot thinner than the one that came with my QR plate.. i didnt use the pilot one because it was too short to screw all the way up into the manfrotto plate.

So time to find a replacement. Just thought i'd post this up incase anyone comes across this in the future..
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 07:48 PM   #102
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Lawry View Post

So time to find a replacement. Just thought i'd post this up incase anyone comes across this in the future..
Joe, I went threw the same screwy situations...........wait............wait.....ok, I thought it was funny. You can actually get spare screws from Steadicam. I tried to file some down from the hardware store, but that didn't work so well.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:03 PM   #103
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Lawry View Post
The bottom of it, where the slot for your flathead screwdriver goes into was rubbing against the where the top of the post meets the stage.. No real damage has been done apart from a couple scratches so all good.

I went back and found the screw that came with the pilot and noticed that the flat part is a lot thinner than the one that came with my QR plate..
I had the exact same problem.

When I first got the Pilot I was using a smaller DV camera, so I added a weight plate under the camera to make it fly better. I used a longer 1/4-20 screw to go through the weight plate into the camera. The longer 1/4-20 screw had a round head, so it ended up scraping against the inner part of the stage.

I solved the problem by filing down the head, and then carefully removing all the metal filings with a shop-vac. No permanent damage, but you can still see some cosmetic scratches when the top plate of the Pilot is removed.

Now I have an HVX, but I still end up adding extra weights to the stage to make it fly better:
Steadicam | 801-7920-05 Middle Balance Weight
(click on the attached photo below).
Attached Thumbnails
Steadicam Pilot - Getting Started Q & A-pb040005.jpg  
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:14 PM   #104
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Speaking of camera tie-down screws, I found an excellent screwdriver for this at Home Depot for only $6:
Husky 5/16 In. x 1-3/4 In. Slotted Screwdriver
Every camera operator should have at least one of these...
Attached Images
 
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 08:31 PM   #105
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gish View Post
Speaking of camera tie-down screws, I found an excellent screwdriver for this at Home Depot for only $6:
Husky 5/16 In. x 1-3/4 In. Slotted Screwdriver
Every camera operator should have at least one of these...
I carry pennies around, but a screw driver works well too. Good discussion.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network