Steadicam Pilot - Getting Started Q & A - Page 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2008, 09:01 PM   #106
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
Just took my screw and put it in a lathe.. now it works perfectly! cheers
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 09:25 PM   #107
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gish View Post
Every camera operator should have at least one of these...
Yes indeed, but has your screwdriver been immortalized in TV history??!!!

The very first thing I bought for my own kit (was still using a rental rig) was a mega-screwdriver with a wide bit like the one Dave illustrates but about twice as long. Many cameras back then only had a single mounting point so you had to tighten the crap out of them to keep them from rotating on you. I went for the longest one I could find to maximize torque. This sucker was menacing.

On the pilot of "Scrubs", there was a scene where the Janitor threatens Zach Braff's character with a big screwdriver. The one that the prop department provided was not nearly as imposing so I offered mine up (see it in action here, about :30 into the clip).

Towards the end of the first season, that scene was called back with a new intern arriving at the hospital, and the screwdriver made its second appearance on network TV. Too bad it didn't get residuals.

The story has a tragic end; not long after this my old friend disappeared from my frontbox. Petty thievery brought an end to our long working relationship.

Craftsman Big-Ass Screwdriver: 1988-2002. RIP.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2008, 10:18 PM   #108
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Papert View Post
Yes indeed, but has your screwdriver been immortalized in TV history??!!!
...
On the pilot of "Scrubs", there was a scene where the Janitor threatens Zach Braff's character with a big screwdriver. The one that the prop department provided was not nearly as imposing so I offered mine up (see it in action here, about :30 into the clip).
Can't top that! Very cool...
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 12:43 PM   #109
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
bump..........
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 09:22 PM   #110
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Dave, this thread is a nice resource that has received good responses so I have stickied it. Mazel tov.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2009, 03:01 AM   #111
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Great thread! Answered a lot of my questions :).
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 11:04 AM   #112
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 863
I found something in my local hardware store to help stop the camera moving about on the stage.

In the UK in B&Q you can get Draper Slip Mat. Its like a thin, rubbery, foam like substance which feels tacky (sticky). A slice of this under your quickrelease plate (or camera) and it wont budge an inch.

I got a roll of it for about 5 although you only need a small ammount, used the rest on my dash board and rugs :)
Danny O'Neill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 04:36 PM   #113
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
How many mid weights should I buy if I'm flying a Xh-A1 and plan to later fly an EX-1? Would 2 be enough?
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 04:48 PM   #114
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
How many mid weights should I buy if I'm flying a Xh-A1 and plan to later fly an EX-1? Would 2 be enough?
I would buy 8. Unfortunately, Tiffen just raised the price on middle weights from $6 each to $25 each, but it looks like you can still get the $6 price here:
Steadicam 801-7920-05 Balance Weights, Steadicam
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 09:14 PM   #115
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gish View Post
I would buy 8. Unfortunately, Tiffen just raised the price on middle weights from $6 each to $25 each, but it looks like you can still get the $6 price here:
Steadicam 801-7920-05 Balance Weights, Steadicam
Thanks for the heads up. Does the pilot come with 4 end weights already? If so, I need to call and get my order fixed to include 2 more end weights.
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 10:00 PM   #116
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Panado View Post
Does the pilot come with 4 end weights already?
The Pilot comes with 4 middle-weights and 4 end-weights. I've ordered an extra 8 middle-weights, for a total of 12. For lighter cameras like the XH-A1, I use all of my weights (12 middle weights, and 4 end weights).
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2009, 11:10 PM   #117
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gish View Post
The Pilot comes with 4 middle-weights and 4 end-weights. I've ordered an extra 8 middle-weights, for a total of 12. For lighter cameras like the XH-A1, I use all of my weights (12 middle weights, and 4 end weights).
Okay sweet. All set then :).
Randy Panado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 09:24 AM   #118
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 30
XHA1 with 35mm Adapter

Has anyone tried using the Pilot with an XHA1 and Letus 35mm adapter? Can it still handle the weight when using a long lens, eg. 300mm f4, approx. 3lbs? Not sure what the entire rig would weigh as I don't currently have an adapter, both it and a stabilizer are on my shopping list, just trying to determine which stabilizer.
Thanks, Rich.
Montauk Rocks - Oscail Films
Richard Siberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #119
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Siberry View Post
Has anyone tried using the Pilot with an XHA1 and Letus 35mm adapter?
See here:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/stabilize...f-adapter.html
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 11:40 AM   #120
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
What exactly were you thinking to shoot at 300mm on any type of Steadicam...?!!
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network