EX1/EX3 Footage at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2008, 02:36 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
EX1/EX3 Footage

Does anyone have footage from an EX1 or EX3 on a stabilizer?

I'd PREFER fig rig footage, but steadicam/glidecam footage would suffice. Perhaps something on Vimeo?

Thanks
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:12 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Dang, no one has any footage at ALL of an EX1/EX3 on a stabilizer?
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:39 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 230
Hey Perrone, I have a Glidecam 4000 Pro that I haven't set up yet but I plan to start practicing with it in the next few days... I'll see if I can get some sample footage uploaded.
Buck Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 11:54 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Thanks Buck. I had been going back and forth on the Glidecam 4000 and the Fig Rig, but in the end, decided the Fig did more of what I needed. But I am still hoping to see the footage from either or both.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 12:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: California
Posts: 230
The Fig Rig looks really cool and I looked at that too. But I wanted more of the "floating" sensation for walking down trails and floating over fields of wildflowers, etc. The Fig Rig looks better for run and gun and a better option for holding the camera steady rather than by 'hand'. When you get it I'm eager to see the results, perhaps I'll add it to my list of 'would like to have someday'.
Buck Forester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2008, 12:32 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I needed something for "walk and talk" in the building, and for basic shots where I'd normally be handholding. The ability to pan, dolly, crab, crane, and shoot high or low, with some level of stability was a huge selling point.

Since I am not doing narrative really, the "floaty" feeling I felt would end up being more distractive. The more handheld look connects the user a bit more and most of what I shoot is training and corporate type videos in which I want the user "involved". More like reality TV than a movie.

Different tools for different jobs. I hope to have the unit in a few weeks, as I have a project I will be shooting over the winter. I'll post footage when I start using it.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 09:45 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 165
Flycam 6000

I have the Flycam 6000 and produced this short video. I am not proficient at the art of steadicam yet and still trying to balance the unit and learn the technique. But, you asked and here you go.

Phil Hanna

Flycam 6000 Practice Session on Vimeo
Phil Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2008, 07:01 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
About 75% of the shots on my reel were done with the EX1, and the other 25% on my HVX200, all using my Steadicam Pilot.
davegishsteadicamreel on Vimeo
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 09:35 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 318
Hey Dave, nice reel. I have a shoot coming up with an EX1, any probs getting a signal for the Steadicam monitor and one for a video transmitter as well?
__________________
Nick
Nick Tsamandanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2008, 11:38 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
Yea how are you guys splitting your video signal out of your cameras without using a DA? i tried doing it the other day with a BNC T Joiner and there was a lot of luminance loss on both the outputs, as i expected..
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 12:54 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Hanna View Post
I have the Flycam 6000 and produced this short video. I am not proficient at the art of steadicam yet and still trying to balance the unit and learn the technique. But, you asked and here you go.

Phil Hanna

Flycam 6000 Practice Session on Vimeo

PERFECT! Thank you so much!
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 05:02 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Lawry View Post
Yea how are you guys splitting your video signal out of your cameras without using a DA? i tried doing it the other day with a BNC T Joiner and there was a lot of luminance loss on both the outputs, as i expected..
Joe, on the Sony Z1 I use the audio/video out connection for the Steadicam monitor and for the video reciever I use the S-video connection. I had a tech custom the cables for me. I can also power the transmitter from a portable 12 v battery - Works great.
__________________
Nick
Nick Tsamandanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 06:58 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Tsamandanis View Post
Hey Dave, nice reel. I have a shoot coming up with an EX1, any probs getting a signal for the Steadicam monitor and one for a video transmitter as well?
Many Sony cameras use a special connector to bring out the composite, audio, and s-video signals. I splice/solder my own custom cables, so I made a 2-3" cable with just a yellow RCA on the composite and everything else disconnected. I've used this with the EX1 and the V1U. Here's where I bought the cable that I spliced down:
http://www.buy.com/prod/sony-handyca.../90117338.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Lawry View Post
Yea how are you guys splitting your video signal out of your cameras without using a DA? i tried doing it the other day with a BNC T Joiner and there was a lot of luminance loss on both the outputs, as i expected..
I just use an RCA Y-cable that I made. Yes, the luminance goes down a bit, but with the contrast all the way up, I can see fine. The important thing is that the director and DP can see the shot. Without the wireless, they tend to hover close to you. They've actually bumped the sled a couple of times.

One time this hovering actually worked to my advantage though. Two days ago, we were shooting a low budget music video on manhattan sidewalks. There was no wireless video link, so the director was hovering. Since there was wind, the sled was a little unstable, so I asked the director to spread out his jacket and hover up-wind, and that helped a lot.
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 08:25 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 318
Hover... yes: YouTube - Making Of "1%" Movie Trailer
__________________
Nick
Nick Tsamandanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 09:51 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
As an editor and tech the luminance loss annoys me a lot, i've found a little wee DA that is small enough to fit on the rig. Now im just trying to find a spot to put it where i've got room, power and video.

Although, it just ends up being another thing to power, and more video cable to run, im starting to ask myself is it worth it?
Attached Thumbnails
EX1/EX3 Footage-73711392_full.jpg  
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network