Glidecam V8 pictures required - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2004, 07:29 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Great to see you on this side of the forum Johan.
...and don't forget to take a pic of their arm pitch mechanism.
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2004, 06:44 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
I still want piccys of the V8 :)
Richard Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2004, 07:10 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Hey Richard, I Taylor moore has V-8. Here is a link to his website where you can ask him for more pics. http://www.moorefilms.com/production.htm
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2004, 07:54 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
Thanks Charles, I’ve sent him an email and I hope to hear soon.

But in the meantime, pictures form anyone else would b gr8:)
Richard Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 12:19 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 574
V8 Pics.

Take a look at these.

http://home.mindspring.com/~ricks-pi...pedglidecamv8/

I modified our V8 a bit after actually using it.

First, the provided monitor is absolutely useless in bright light, especially sunlight. I replaced it with a Color TFT LCD monitor.

Second, I ran the video cable through the post, bringing it out through a drilled hole, up near the camera.

Third, I attached a Canon battery adapter to the sled that powers the new monitor and also acts as part of the ballast. This configuration also help in battery changes since you do not have to manhandle the monitor to remove and attach the battery.

Fourth, I added a remote zoom/camera controler from Studio 1. http://www.studio1productions.com/dzc1.htm

This facilitates starting and stopping the camera as well as adjusting your zoom setting by being close to your control hand so that your hand does not have to "travel" as far from from the rig while setting up you shot.

Fifth, I added a small line level as a reference.

Hope this helps, RB.
__________________
"The future ain't what it used to be." Yogi Berra.
www.rbravo.com
Rick Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 12:32 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
Thanks Rick
Richard Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 01:08 PM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Rick, what brand monitor did you get?
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 01:20 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
Rick, I was looking at your pic of the zoom controller and would like to mention that your deesion to put it there might not have been a good move.

Before I explain why let me ask, how are your shots coming out now that you have placed the the zoom control where you have it now?

Now, the reason I said it might not have been a good move, it will impart some disturbance or motion to the rig when you try to handle the zoom control during operation. A good place for such a gadget would be on the gimbal where your right hand controls the gimbal. This way you will not impart any kind of outside interference that will disturb the balance of the rig.

The using of the left hand should be to lightly control the rig with a slight touch of the operating hand, in your case the left hand just at the gimbal or undernearth it. Seeing that your zoom contoller is a little more further away from the gimbal it mgiht just lend to it some interference.
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 01:27 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
I have a Varizoom controler. How far away
from the gimbal should it be placed?
And if I understand, it should be operated
with the right hand, correct?
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 07:59 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 574
Not for use during the shot.

Charles,

Yeah, I'd say it would be pretty much impossible, except for the one little thing you didn't know about me...I have 3 arms!!! :)

Seriously,

I absolutely DO NOT use the controller during the shot. It is strictly used for starting and stopping the camera and for making last minute tweaks to the zoom setting while blocking the shot...before rolling.

I found that it was easier to maintain framing by having less travel time to the pause/record button on the camera as well as not having to impart extra pressure on the camera itself while the rig was not supported by my left hand. It also made it possible to adjust the zoom without having to reach around and having to hunt for the rocker depending on which way the camera is oriented.

Dave,

I don't remember offhand. I'll check in the morning when I get to the office and re-post.

RB
__________________
"The future ain't what it used to be." Yogi Berra.
www.rbravo.com
Rick Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 08:06 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Ohhh. I thought you were using the controler
*while* you were shooting.
Dave Largent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2004, 09:27 PM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: sweden
Posts: 795
"I have a Varizoom controler. How far away
from the gimbal should it be placed?
And if I understand, it should be operated
with the right hand, correct?"


Dave, The optimum place would be on the gimbal handle itself. This is perfect because it is right where your hand is suppose to be. Your operatiing hand is just there to position or guide the sled but I guess you knew that already.


Rick, I undestand. I thought you were operating it at the same time you were operating the rig. Thanks for clearing things up.
__________________
Charles
'What we perceive to be may not be what we believe to be.'
Charles King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2004, 08:51 AM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 574
Here we go...

Dave,

The monitor is 5 1/2 inches and is made by DELVCAM.

http://www.tecnec.com/products/pages/delv-pro56.html

The model number is DELV-PRO56 .

RB
__________________
"The future ain't what it used to be." Yogi Berra.
www.rbravo.com
Rick Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2004, 02:17 PM   #29
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
Rick,

I really like the idea to use BP-9xx series to power the monitor! Where did you found this Canon battery adapter? I would really like to put one on my stabilizer.
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network