Rewriring the Pilot for HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 16th, 2014, 02:08 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Soooo, Steadicam wants 750.00 to rewire my Pilot to HD, that's without the monitor. Which I told them was way too high.

Has anyone rewired their own?
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 02:22 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Do you need HD on the Pilot monitor? With a 7" monitor around 3 feet would you notice the difference? Does the camera only output HD? If so, you can buy a little down-converter box.
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2014, 09:44 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

If you cable from the front of the camera stage down to the monitor in a straight line, there will be no operating issues (you'd have to spin the camera around and see yourself before the cable would restrict you). You would need to disconnect it for spin balancing, but the weight of the cable wouldn't change anything once you had achieved dynamic balance. It's not as ideal as recabling the rig down the post but since money is a factor...
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2014, 09:36 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Singapore
Posts: 102
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Actually I was thinking about doing just that for the cost. I could get a cheap Pilot AA set and get a SmallHD AC7 monitor with SDI.
Zexun Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2014, 11:56 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Just be aware that a standard monitor such as an AC7 is going to be much less viewable in daylight than the stock Pilot monitor, which has a certain amount of anti-reflective coating on it (SmallHD does make a high-bright version but it costs quite a bit more). Probably the cheapest daylight viewable you'll find is a used Marshall transflective model from 3 or 4 years ago.

If you have to choose between a standard HD monitor and a high brightness or AR coated SD one, you're better off with the latter. You don't want to be struggling to see an image outside.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2014, 09:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 189
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Charles, I'm not a steadi pro but if the standard LCD that I got with my Pilot VLB (bought 4 years ago at BH) does have any coating it's not very good.

It's hard to work with it outside on a bright sunny day.

I've actually experimented with a higher NIT chinese monitor, one of the earlier 7'' lilliput models and it was actually more useable outside than the stock Pilot LCD. But the 1/4'' thread mount was poorly made and I discovered that it induced vibrations while operating so I stopped using it and went back to the stock monitor.

I did heard that they have a transreflective model too but haven't been able to dig it up. I'd love to try it.

As I said, I'm not a steadi pro and still can't justify the cost of a proper monitor (which probably costs as much as my whole rig).
Zoran Vincic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 12:26 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Certainly the Pilot monitor wasn't anywhere near great, but the one I tried was better than the standard monitors available at the time. In the past few years the NIT ratings have crept up in the budget monitor world. It does take a combination of brightness and AR coatings to do the trick though (brightness is good for the highlights, but AR is what keeps the blacks down, resulting in necessary contrast). There are currently very few monitors on the market that can satisfy the majority of pro Steadicam guys (there are still a few that stick to their CRT's, monochrome and standard def regardless)!
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2014, 12:56 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Riverdale, NJ
Posts: 468
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles Papert View Post
If you cable from the front of the camera stage down to the monitor in a straight line, there will be no operating issues (you'd have to spin the camera around and see yourself before the cable would restrict you). You would need to disconnect it for spin balancing, but the weight of the cable wouldn't change anything once you had achieved dynamic balance. It's not as ideal as recabling the rig down the post but since money is a factor...
Straight, meaning fairly tight, so it doesn't flop around. I can confirm that it doesn't get in the way during operation. But if you want to lengthen or shorten the post...
Attached Thumbnails
Rewriring the Pilot for HD-pa310016_2.jpg  

Last edited by Dave Gish; January 31st, 2014 at 01:03 AM. Reason: add pic
Dave Gish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2014, 04:01 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

I bought a Monster Thin HDMI cable online for $18.00. Took my pilot apart and ran cable through. Easy. Now have IKAN VH8 HD monitor instead of the original Pilot monitor.
Eddy Chartrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2016, 10:22 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: Rewriring the Pilot for HD

it is not the cable, it's HDMI connector that i can't pass through the sled, how the heck did you do that?
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Stabilizers (Steadicam etc.)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network