Time Lapses at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Techniques for Independent Production

Techniques for Independent Production
The challenges of creating Digital Cinema and other narrative forms.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Time Lapses

Hi I want to shoot, a timelapse, what equipment do i need i currently have a sony z1,

what i want to do is, shoot in a deserted field, and make the clouds move fast and the band at a normal pace is this possible?

Thanks :)
Ollie Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,130
With the Z1 the only way to do it AFAIK is in the edit. Just record the scene (ie press record) and leave it running for about say 15-20 minutes and speed it up in post. Will work perfectly well, BUT will use lots of tape and take time to do in post.
A lot of timelapse these days is done with digital SLRS (and even some compacts). Check the specs of the cameras, some will do timelapse as is, others need external intervalometers. You can pick up cameras a couple of generations old (like Nikon D200 or something like that) for relatively little, and that has built in timelapse. The resolution of DSLRs is so high relative even to 1080P HD that you can also pan and tilt within the frame give a limited motion-control timelapse, really cool.
One to to watch out for, and certainly if you're buying used DSLRs is that the shutters are only guaranteed/made for a certain amount of shutter releases - typically it's around 100,00, but some pro models like Nikon's D3 are made to do 300,000. This is nothing new, all film SLRs were the same, it's just that with digital it's completely normal to shoot 1000 pictures in a day, and so the shots can really mount up, certainly with timelapse which will be around 500-1000 per shot.
Steve
Steve Phillipps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:52 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Brill Advice :)

but what i want is to film the band a bit of head room etc playing in a field but the sky only moving fast

would you have to overlay the same image and crop it out in post so one image is fast other slow??

Cheers
Ollie Walton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 05:20 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,130
Probably, yes. So shoot the band sync speed, keep the camera locked off and leave it running for a further 15 mins or so. The it's a question of joining them in post (not my area!)
Steve
Steve Phillipps is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Techniques for Independent Production

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network