BBC: Top Gear (Film Look) - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Techniques for Independent Production

Techniques for Independent Production
The challenges of creating Digital Cinema and other narrative forms.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2008, 06:45 AM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Conway, NH
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
Doctor Who is shot on HDCAM with some stuff, explosions and the like on Varicam from season 3. Prior to that is was shot on SD unbelievably.
Ah, okay. I knew the earlier seasons were shot on SD, but I didn't know they had made the switch to HD. Do you know if they shoot interlaced or progressive?
Bill Edmunds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2008, 01:26 PM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cardiff, United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Phil hate to burst your bubble but who is not shot on hdcam, it's digibeta. Varicam happens now and then.
Matt Mullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 02:07 AM   #33
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Mullins View Post
Phil hate to burst your bubble but who is not shot on hdcam, it's digibeta. Varicam happens now and then.
i don't have a bubble to burst, so pop away. I was told they filmed series 3 in HD finally. Did they not? Torchwood was shot on HDCAM from series 1.

If this is the case the BBC really are being muppets.
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2008, 03:11 PM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cardiff, United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Yeah Torchwood was sony 750 hdcam but Who is still digi. VFX take longer in hd so sd was the way to go. They shoot interlaced. Deinterlace in post.
Matt Mullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2008, 06:12 PM   #35
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
Doctor Who is shot on HDCAM with some stuff, explosions and the like on Varicam from season 3. Prior to that is was shot on SD unbelievably.
A friend of mine was one of the editors on the latest series and this was shot on Digibeta. The effects house seems to prefer Super 16 to Varicam, however, I expect there's a mixture of formats being used, so I wouldn't rule it completely.

"Torchwood" is shot on HDCAM.
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Techniques for Independent Production

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network