Alpha Channel Video Issue with Flash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media
Let's talk about anything media related.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2007, 02:54 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Valencia, Ca.
Posts: 5
Alpha Channel Video Issue with Flash

I have a stock video that I know has the alpha channel included however when I import to flash it still shows the black background. I have tried importing the .mov directly (with the conversion to FLV on the fly) and tried going to the flash video encoder to convert .mov to .flv. Of course I'm using the On2 codec with "encode alpha channel" checked every time.

You can see the video here: http://www.forkcreative.com/videos/tree.mov

Thanks for any help you can provide. If you are able to get it to work can you please email the FLA file my way, if you can your awesome!

info AT forkcreative.com
Ken Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 08:56 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ 85260
Posts: 1,538
So what's SUPPOSED to be in the background?

Looks to me that the alpha knockout is doing just fine, but you haven't put anything in the background layer to show through. (To do an alpha channel composite you need TWO layers of video, a foreground and a background.)

Do you have a backgound layer and if so what does it look like?

My workflow for stuff like this is to composite any needed background and forground plates in an NLE like Final Cut Pro, then do a quicktime export of the COMPOSITED signal, so that Flash can then batch process the result for the web.

YMMV.
Bill Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 03:52 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Valencia, Ca.
Posts: 5
Alpha in flash

Well, the whole point of alpha channel video in flash is that the background is other parts of your flash file so that was my purpose. I was expecting the video to import into flash with no black background (or other color for that matter) so the rest of my flash file would show through. Does that help?
Ken Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
usually , if there is something transparent in the video, you have to specify it in the flash encoder. The only presence of the alpha is not enough if you do not say it must be transparent.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 05:26 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Valencia, Ca.
Posts: 5
specifying it in the encoder

When I convert the video form .mov to .flv I'm using the On2 vp6 codec and I check the "encode alpha channel" select box. Anything else I should be doing?
Ken Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 01:22 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Valencia, Ca.
Posts: 5
No one has any help for me here? It would be appreciated.
Ken Barnett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network