WinXP SP3 Out Today at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media
Let's talk about anything media related.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 29th, 2008, 11:45 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
WinXP SP3 Out Today

SP3 should be avail. any time today according to M$. Here is a list of fixes -some of which solve issues for us DV folk...

1,073 fixes
http://www.thetecharea.com/wiki/inde...P_SP3_Fix_List



SP3 Download Link http://download.windowsupdate.com/ms...2300ebfde4.exe
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto

Last edited by Marco Wagner; April 29th, 2008 at 06:48 PM. Reason: Added link
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 01:37 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 81
Be Warned!!

What timing...I am having troubles with SP3.

I've had to do a clean install of Windows XP (Pro) with service pack 3 and when I try to install the Production Studio (CS) software is says in needs service pack 2. Has anyone else encountered this issue and is there a workaround to it? I really hate to have spend another half a day getting everything set up on the machine just to spend another couple of hour installing the Production Studio software.

Cheers, Jon
Jon Pavli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 01:54 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
are you using the SP3 RC or the final gold sp?

Direct Link to Final SP3 http://download.windowsupdate.com/ms...2300ebfde4.exe
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto

Last edited by Marco Wagner; April 29th, 2008 at 02:05 PM. Reason: added link
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 81
Hi Marco,

SP3 RC...do you have any other insite into the problem?

Cheers, Jon
Jon Pavli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:10 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
No, sorry. I have yet to install SP3 as it has just come out to public today. RC maybe slightly different or you may have discovered an Adobe bug....I will try tonight when I get home and report back here.
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:13 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, USA
Posts: 81
Thanks and I will keep searching for an answer. I've posted the questions a few other messageboards.

Good luck when you try it.

Cheers, Jon
Jon Pavli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 02:43 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 978
I would highly recommend removing the RC and use the Gold version. I have had similar issues with software and pervious RC Service packs.
__________________
Simple Thought Productions - Life @ 30,000 Words per second
Josh Chesarek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2008, 07:44 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
SP3 working fine with CS3 currently.



My only complaint at this minute is Microsoft removing the "Address Bar" feature from the task bar!!!!! WHAT THE HECK!!! I used that A LOT!!!
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2008, 10:02 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Getting rid of the Release Candidate will be mandatory real soon, actually.

If you read all the documentation that came with the Release Candidate, you would know that it includes a time bomb, that is, It Will Stop Working after a period of time.

Release Candidates are meant for evaluation, not production systems.

Thanks for the link to SP3 Gold. I've been looking for it all day and it was not coming up.

One question: Is it for Windows XP 32 bit or 64 bit?

Last edited by Bill Koehler; April 30th, 2008 at 10:58 PM. Reason: Typo
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2008, 11:58 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Official release delayed due to a bug:
http://www.tomsguide.com/us/windows-...news-1190.html
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2008, 10:26 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
Which bug, lol

Yeah I saw that, too late, already running SP3 on all my boxes. I don't run POS software so there is no reason to panic.
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network