Sony's Spiderman 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media
Let's talk about anything media related.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 1st, 2004, 06:43 AM   #1
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Sony's Spiderman 2

I just saw Spiderman 2 last night, and was blown away. Fantastic movie that will keep you hanging on.

Anyways, as I was watching the credits, something occured to me... Sony owns the Spiderman franchise. Sony also owns Vegas Video, having bought it from Sonic Foundry last year.

My question is.... Would they edit Spiderman using Vegas?
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 07:39 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That is highly unlikely since almost all film editors use Avid or
physically cut with the film. It would've been a nice publicity
stund though! In theory it would be possible with low resolution
proxies and an EDL export.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 07:45 AM   #3
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
It would really have been too funny, if they had cut it with Premiere :)
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 03:15 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,707
Has anything professional ever been edited with Premiere? I don't mean television either...I mean theatrical film.

I switched to Mac and bought FCP because it's the cheapest way to edit with a "Pro" system. I saw "Cold Mountain" in the theater and was TOTALLY sold on FCP after that...and I already owned it. The film just made it solidified in my mind...great film and great editing.

Murph
__________________
Christopher C. Murphy
Director, Producer, Writer
Christopher C. Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 06:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 439
not to mention that Cold Mountain was actually pieced together on a group of powerbooks.. according to that article...
Josh Brusin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 07:20 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
<<<-- Originally posted by Christopher C. Murphy :
I switched to Mac and bought FCP because it's the cheapest way to edit with a "Pro" system. I saw "Cold Mountain" in the theater and was TOTALLY sold on FCP after that...and I already owned it. The film just made it solidified in my mind...great film and great editing.
-->>>

Sorry Murph, I've got to bust yer tomata on this one...

What does FCP have to do with the great editing of the film?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 09:59 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Plainfield, New Jersey
Posts: 927
>>My question is.... Would they edit Spiderman using Vegas?<<

With their budget…probably not. And if they did, you would be seeing “Vegas Video edits Spider Man 2” ads all over the place. Much like Apple did with Cold Mountain.

As for the film...The movie was way too melodramatic for me. I didn’t care about Peter Parker’s love interest, nor did I care that he was torn between revealing himself to his loved ones, or keeping his identity a secret. The story dragged big time. And a lot of the CGI looked like it belonged in a Toy Story. Dr. Octopus was cool though, that was about all I enjoyed from the film. It’s baffling to me why so many people are crazy about this cliched and melodramatic movie. I guess I’m just not a Spider Man fan. I enjoyed Hell Boy and X-Men 2 far more then this movie.
Glenn Gipson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 10:26 AM   #8
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
I couldn't disagree more. Even on a technical aspect I thought this movie went along at a very fast clip, every scene had a mark. No moment was really wasted. I guess if you aren't hit by the emotional aspect of Peter Parker's story, you might be bored by the romance and by Parker's dilemma. I thought it was all good.
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 10:32 AM   #9
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Glen- The whole story is ripped straight from the pages of Spiderman comics. The fact that his life is always in turmoil is what makes him more human.

Of course, being a fan of the comics in my youth, I was a little dissapointed with some of the changes they made. But, I got over most of them. And having been a fan, I spent a lot of time looking at the soon to be villains in Parker's life, trying to figure out which would be in the next movie. Nice teasing on their part.
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 11:03 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Re: Sony's Spiderman 2

Quote:
My question is.... Would they edit Spiderman using Vegas?
It might be unlikely, but I wouldn't be surprised if they used it somewhere. They usually don't promote what tools they used on a movie.

Douglas Spotted Eagle has done tons of projects and I'm sure Vegas and Acid got used in there somewhere, but I've never seen them advertise it. During the free Sony seminar, DSE mentioned that he'd used Acid for the Finding Nemo soundtrack.
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 06:50 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Dylan, haven't you seen the "Edit my movie into something really cool" button in FCP?

Seriously though, the fact that they did cut it on FCP meant it's up for the job. I don't get the feeling Vegas would be.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2004, 08:00 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
I think you have to understand what is meant by the term "edit". It would be possible to "edit" a feature film on vegas or adobe for that matter... in offline resolution. Then you would have to conform it. Neither of these tools is especially adept at that. Some films that are edited on FCP are then "finished" on a high end Avid.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2004, 03:48 PM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
<<<-- Originally posted by Aaron Koolen : Dylan, haven't you seen the "Edit my movie into something really cool" button in FCP?

Seriously though, the fact that they did cut it on FCP meant it's up for the job. I don't get the feeling Vegas would be.

Aaron -->>>

Darn, I should have bought a Mac...

My point is just that if it was a terrible movie, no one would care if it was edited on FCP. It had great editing because it was done by an experienced professional, not because it was done on FCP. The tool is irrelevant to the results. No one cares what brand of paintbrush Picasso painted with, except for the people that think buying a better paintbrush will make them better painters, while what they really need is skill.

Back to the regularly scheduled topic... Spiderham!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2004, 04:49 PM   #14
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
What software did you use Mr. Murch?

Agreed with Dylan.

I can see the cartoon now. Some kid walks up to Walter Murch and demands to know how he could have edited "Apocalypse Now" without FCP.
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2004, 03:25 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 66
anyone notice a little evil dead in spiderman?
im not kidding.... in the operating room, one of the surgeons
and the chainsaw?
I agree this one was alittle slow moving...
anyone thinking its about time for the simbiote?
didnt the john jameson character bring it back from space?
__________________
Remember, Tuesdays are Soylent Green days!
Patrick MCMurray is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network