Firewire network in XP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media
Let's talk about anything media related.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2003, 09:46 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
Firewire network in XP?

I just had an interesting thought the other day. If I get a 6-pin to 6-pin firewire cable and hook it between two computers, will I be able to make a firewire connection between the two so I can transfer files?
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 10:57 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I've heard from people who just plugged the cables in and had
a 400 mbit connection (they also claim there is a special firewire
driver in their network configuration screen). I've also heard
people who claim it didn't do nothing. Personally I have only
one machine with firewire and that machine is running Windows
2000. So I can't try it out for myself....

Let us know if you test it what happens!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 11:01 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I do exactly that, however, I use some software from UNIBRAIN to manage the interface. It works excellently as for a small LAN system, allowing file transfers between nodes at 400 Mb/sec. No routers or hubs required.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 01:54 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
I have firewire via my Audigy card and it includes firewire networking drivers.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 05:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
I tried it at our school lab today between two XP computers, nothing seemed to happen. However, when I unplugged the cable it gave me a network connection unplugged warning, so obviously it recognized it but didn't really do anything with it.
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 08:58 PM   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
The setup between two computers with Win XP ad firewire ports is fairly involved. Open the CONTROL PANEL/NETWORK CONNECTIONS icons and select NETWORK SETUP WIZARD. Then follow the prompts.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2003, 10:40 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Just for reference, you do it on a Mac by turning off one computer, hooking up the cable and then starting up the computer and holding down the T key. This is called FireWire target mode and the internal hard drives of the second computer will show up on your desktop.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2003, 09:10 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 263
Bill is right you will not need anything more than what's in XP Pro, not home edition, though (sorry). Just set it up like any other TCP/IP network. Create the network using any of the reserved or internal IP addresses, ie.10.1.1.0 (subnet 255.255.255.0) or 192.168.1.1(subnet 255.255.255.0) and just remember to assign a unique address to each machine and XP will do the rest. Oh, be sure to enable File Sharing service in order to share files across the LAN. Remember: Without a repeater IEEE1394 has a cable limit of 15ft of maxiumum length.
__________________
"USA Today has come out with a new survey - apparently, three out of every four people make up 75% of the population." -David Letterman
Garret Ambrosio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2003, 06:35 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 484
Firewire Network

After I put my firewire network in place about a year ago I did a "how to" video, which Unibrain bought. It's at
http://www.unibrain.com/1394_products/1394_networking/firenet_pc.htm
I should mention that WinXP wasn't involved. The two pc's run Win2KPro and Win98SE.
David Hurdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 01:50 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 390
<<<-- Originally posted by Jeff Donald : Just for reference, you do it on a Mac by turning off one computer, hooking up the cable and then starting up the computer and holding down the T key. This is called FireWire target mode and the internal hard drives of the second computer will show up on your desktop. -->>>

Ah, Macs make it so easy!!
__________________
alextaylor.org
Alex Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > And Now, For Something Completely Different... > The TOTEM Poll: Totally Off Topic, Everything Media

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network