Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Tripod Sticks & Heads


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2012, 11:42 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

I've read many times that you can use the Manfrotto 501PL plates, such as what are used on the 501 & 701 manfrotto heads, on the Sachtler FSB-6. However there are two versions of the Sachtler heads.

One is a "Sideload" and the other is a "Snap & Go"

Which head fits the Manfrotto plates?
Sachtler 0407 FSB-6 Fluid Head 0407 B&H Photo Video

or

Sachtler 0405 FSB-6T Fluid Head 0405 B&H Photo Video

Thank you,
Paul Hildebrandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 12:20 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

It's not a direct fit...you have to get the Manfrotto 577 which you will attach to the FSB-6 plate (use the 3/8" screw) so it really doesn't matter which style the FSB-6 is. I did this right after buying my Sachtler and it has saved me a TON of headache as I use a bunch of different camera mounts. Now, my 3 cameras all wear a Manfrotto plate and can attach to all my tripods, cranes, sliders, glidecam, teleprompter, car mounts, etc.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 02:20 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Others here have said it's a direct fit on the Sachtler side-load plates. Snap & Go heads (I had one) have a tiny, square camera plate that definitely needs the MN577 adapter for this purpose. The side-load plate is the longer one in your first link, Paul.

See this post:
Upgrading from 501HDV: Vinten VB or Sachtler DSLR/FSB-6?
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 02:24 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

I stand corrected! I have the top load plate. Didn't look like the side plate version would work but glad to know it does!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 02:32 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Me too! I'd been telling people for years that it wouldn't work!
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 02:44 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Of note when using the 501PL on the 0407 FSB6, you don't get the same long throw position adjust as when using a Sachtler plate, at least, not straight out.

You end up with a forward load position and a rearward load position, both of which have a much shorter adjustment range.

You need to physically unload the plate and reposition it to go from one to the other.

The total adjustment range is pretty close to the Sachtler plate, you just have to work a bit harder to use it, though, in practice, if your rig configuration doesn't change much, you'll simply always use one or 'tother.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 04:00 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Chris, you should be able to fit the Sachtler plate on Manfrotto mounts though, correct? So I can use the Sachtler plate on my camera, but like my BHDV-1 monopod, and my glidecam with the 577 adapter on top, I could just side the Sachtler plate right onto that right?
Paul Hildebrandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 05:43 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Interesting question, never thought to check it out before.

I've just tried the long Sachtler Cine plate from the FSB6 in my 577 adapter, works just fine.

Shed loads of travel, locks and releases just great.

Contrary to my ealier statement, a bit more fiddling has established that the 501PL actually has 3 different load positions on the FSB6 head, not two, though the most forward one is a bit iffy as far as the slide lock is concerned (as in it may or may not lock).


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 11:45 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 83
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

Excellent, thanks for checking into that for me!

Kind of a question for another thread, but do you have any experience with the speedlock 75 legs? It seems like a far better deal to get one of the head+leg kits. Either the carbon fiber speed lock legs, the aluminum legs with spreader, or the "Telescopic Tripod TT 75/2 CF"

Looking for something that is easy to transport, but will provide a steady image. My manfrotto legs with spreader are not speedlock and i'm pretty quick at setting it up, so that's not really an issue for me. But these sachtler legs are carbon fiber, so I assume lighter, but i've heard mixed things about the speed lock legs, not sure if it's user error, or if they really are unreliable and fall apart on people.
Paul Hildebrandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 12:07 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Re: Using Manfrotto 501PL plate on Sachtler FSB-6?

I use the CF 75 speed lock legs. I really like them. I haven't used a lot of CF tripod systems but these seem pretty heavy even compared with the Manfrotto aluminum. That said, they are way more stable and easier to setup than the Manfrotto stuff I have. The head, of course is unreal and I think the legs are a good match. I generally have my XF300 mounted but also have loaded it with a fully rigged DSLR that probably pushes he weight limit of the head. Works just fine!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Tripod Sticks & Heads

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network