HELP!?! Strange video monitor problems... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2003, 01:09 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 11
HELP!?! Strange video monitor problems...

Okay so I have a JVC TM-H1375SU and have had it for about six months now and luckily it's still under warranty. So it has worked flawlessly with FCP 3 up until now. It screws up the picture extremely bad and is doing something I have never seen before in my life. It used to be in color, but now it's in black and white. Any ideas what might be wrong with it? I've included some links so you can get a better example of what I am talking about. By the way the photos are of a project that is in COLOR.

http://scholar.surfwax.com/servlet/c...4015705550.jpg

http://scholar.surfwax.com/servlet/c...4015815577.jpg

Those are two different pictures despite the similiar looking links... sorry!
Matt Brouwer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:36 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Do you know of any things you've changed in a short while to
the system?? You might try another cable....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 10:54 AM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Matt,
Does this thread sound similar, or provide clues to solving, your trouble?

If so, it may be something on your Firewire bus causing interference.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 04:54 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 11
<<<-- Originally posted by Ken Tanaka : Matt,
Does this thread sound similar, or provide clues to solving, your trouble?

If so, it may be something on your Firewire bus causing interference. -->>>

Hmmm.... I haven't change anything with the settings and it has always been connected to the computer through the canopus advc-100. I forgot to also add that it makes a strange buzzing sound in the monitor so maybe something "died" in the monitor itself?
Another problem I thought it might have been different frequencies around the monitor... could this maybe a cause of the problem? Thanks for all your guy's help.
Matt Brouwer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 05:39 PM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
It sounds like your trouble may, indeed, have a different cause than the problems in the other thread. I'm not familiar with the Canopus board so I'll have to step aside and hope that others can provide a clue here.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 06:36 PM   #6
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Did the start of the buzzing coincide with the visual problems? If so, I would say they are related. Send the unit in for warranty service.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2003, 08:05 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 11
<<<-- Originally posted by Jeff Donald : Did the start of the buzzing coincide with the visual problems? If so, I would say they are related. Send the unit in for warranty service. -->>>
Yeah it did... Sorry I kept leaving out details, but I doubt that it's the canopus advc-100 converter. I tried just plugging the camera straight into the monitor via s cable and it still had the same scrambled picture.
Matt Brouwer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 06:59 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Sounds like your monitor has broken down. Most easy way to
check that out is to plug in another monitor/TV and see what
happens. If this fixes it your monitor is definitely faulty. Get it
repaired or buy another one.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network