Waveform and in Field Vectorscope? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2008, 05:06 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Waveform and in Field Vectorscope?

I'm interested in checking waveforms and a vectorscope in the field. My idea is to use a DSC color chip and grey scale charts to check the waveforms and vectors before shooting.

Is anyone doing this and have monitor recommendations? I'm considering having a computer on location, onto which I can load with Vegas &/or Avid AXP/MC.

Thanks much!
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2008, 04:25 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 299
My boss uses a Leader 5750 I believe in the field and we use it for color correction back in our suites when he isn't using it. It monitors audio also.
James Brill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2008, 04:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
That's one expensive monitor, but I'm sure worth it.

I'm considering having a computer on location on which I could run Vegas. (I'd also be using the computer for on location capturing.)

Vegas has scopes and waveform. This should work okay, right?
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 12:27 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
I don't believe those scopes are real-time. DVRack / Onlocation is.

2- Personally, I don't really believe in using scopes during production (unless you need to do something like camera matching).

If you learn your gear, you're just not really going to need it. Shoot a test with multiple bracketed exposures, color correct/grade it, and see what exposure is the ideal exposure. Figure out how that corresponds to what you see on the camera viewfinder/LCD or on a broadcast monitor.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 01:25 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Glenn, as for your first point, I was thinking of recording and actually capturing some footage into Vegas while on location. That should work.

For point two, I've heard that lattitude is not uniform across F stops. So with same fps and shutter speed but different iris openings, some exposures have more lattitude while others less.

And for some compositions you actually want less camera lattitude (not more). The idea being if less lattitude is in the composition, you try to shoot using an exposure with less lattitude. This way color bits aren't being wasted on intensities that are outside of the range of what's being recorded.

Is that accurate? (I'm not saying that means I need on location waveform and vector scopes.)

Thanks much.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 01:38 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Moretti View Post
Glenn, as for your first point, I was thinking of recording and actually capturing some footage into Vegas while on location. That should work.
That sounds tedious.

Quote:
For point two, I've heard that lattitude is not uniform across F stops. So with same fps and shutter speed but different iris openings, some exposures have more lattitude while others less.
This might be due to some sort of auto-knee circuit?? e.g. where the knee parameters are varied dynamically.

Quote:
And for some compositions you actually want less camera lattitude (not more). The idea being if less lattitude is in the composition, you try to shoot using an exposure with less lattitude. This way color bits aren't being wasted on intensities that are outside of the range of what's being recorded.
They are wasted or not wasted depending on how you look at it. In any case, I doubt it will ever be a problem. Because most/all cameras have noise, it effectively dithers the image and you don't really have to worry about insufficient bit depth (except maybe on some of the higher end cameras with lower noise).

In any case I think you'd learn a lot from doing a test.

Bracket exposures, color correct/grade your footage, see what you like best.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2008, 02:35 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Chan View Post
... They are wasted or not wasted depending on how you look at it. In any case, I doubt it will ever be a problem. Because most/all cameras have noise, it effectively dithers the image and you don't really have to worry about insufficient bit depth (except maybe on some of the higher end cameras with lower noise)...
Glenn, I guess to an extent. I mean taken to an extreme, 10-bit color does look better than 8-bit color.

I will do a test. Promise :). Thanks for your help.
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network