2nd monitor question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2003, 08:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
2nd monitor question

I am currently doing my editing with a single 15" monitor. I have an NVIDIA Geforce 4200 graphics card, which has a DVI output as well as the standard monitor output.

Can I use this card, somehow, to add a second monitor?
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 09:09 AM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Are you Mac or PC?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 10:05 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 187
Yes you can. What you'll need is a dvi --> vga adapter. It's a little white block that has a dvi connector on one end and a vga connector on the other. Usually any place like Compusa, Microcenter, etc. sells these. Downside is for what they do and their size they're pricey in my opinion, around $25-$30 dollars. And they're not much cheaper online :/
Hope that helps.

matt
Matt Betea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 01:22 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I don't believe that particular card is a twin-monitor output, is it?

A brief look at some info on the card suggests it wil support either a digital or analog input monitor. But I don't see where it will support a second monitor.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 02:10 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 187
The 4200 is a Geforce 4 series card. As long as it has the two ports, it'll run dual displays. The older Geforce 3 cards had two ports, but did not support dual displays for some reason. I had a PNY Geforce 4 Ti4200 card for a while, ran two displays well.
Matt Betea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 07:06 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London
Posts: 20
PC User:

Your prices for DVI - VGA adapters sound crazy. we sell them where I work for 5.oo. shame that you arn't in the UK.
I have the same card and use two screens.

One thing that I've learnt through using various duel screen systems, (although this may only be a quirk for me) is that having the monitors differant sizes makes life so much easier. 1 is 17" the other 15".

I found that when they were the same size, my brain could never make up its mind as to which was my main screen.
Thus I was forever filicking my eyes back and forth.

Now my brain knows that the smaller is for secondry stuff and plugins ect. Also (normally) you will only be able to view MPGs and AVIs ect on your main screen.
Roy Roberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 12:21 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Different size monitors may halp you determine which is your main monitor but you run into problems when you try to expand an application, such as AFter Effects, onto both monitors. As the two monitors run at different resolutions, actually even if thay are the same resolution, you can only use the center section of the monitors. You actually end up with about the same useable screen real estate as the single larger monitor.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 02:32 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 187
Previously I had two 17" monitors, but one wasn't capable of running what the other could, so I used different resolutions. And I would agree with Adrian, having monitors at different resolutions locks you out from moving some windows/palettes to the second monitor. Which I found frustrating and to me defeated the purpose of the second monitor. Apps like AE, Premiere, Nikon Capture left me still cramming the majority of things into the main display.

Fastforward. Now I have two 19" monitors and I run them as one display (2560x1024). It's a dream running this way everything just flows a lot better. I'm not sure how or why you would have trouble determining which monitor is your main display, at least with Nvidia's and Matrox's driver it's pretty straight forward. But then again I've been known to be somewhat of a computer geek :/

matt
Matt Betea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 04:42 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Dual 19"CRTs are probably the best performance/dollar monitor setup you get these days. Sure a MAC 23" HD Cinema Display is nice as are dual 20" Sony LCDs but these days 19" CRT screens can be had for reasonable costs and you don't need megadollar display cards to drive them.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 05:17 AM   #10
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I agree with Adrian about 19 inch monitor being your best value. LCD displays have some advantages, but for DV video, CRT's are the easiest to set-up and use.

As a side note, Mac's have no problem using different resolutions for each monitor, with the programs mentioned. Full screens are always utilized.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 05:33 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: London
Posts: 20
Perhaps I should explain in a bit more detail. I didn't mean that you should have differant resolutions on each screen. Just a differant physical size. I often have both monitors at the same res. But when I'm working on webpages I always have the second at 800x600 so that I can develop on one monitor and preview on the other. Also as my main monitor is now a 21" I find that is enough. Also having differant programs running on each monitor is the way that I generally use it, not as I'm sure most users do, utalizing both monitors as one large screen.
I find that when I do this, the 2 edges of the screen that meet plus the gap between helps me to lose the flow when doing what I call the tennis head movement. Maybe I should try a bit harder to get used to it..
Roy Roberts is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network