quick advice needed: battery for Manhattan monitor - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2008, 12:29 PM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Because anything but in-studio applications, anything larger than ManhattanLCD's 10.9" enclosure is just too bulky and heavy to log around, IMHO.

In fact I like using ManhattanLCD even in studio.

Granted, when I can afford a heavy/bulky setup, I use Dell 2405 with Component in. Very easy to focus, gives excellent idea of how the picture will look/feel on larger screens, and color representation is OK too for non-critical viewing. And, you can see it across the small room :)
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 04:09 AM   #32
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Raskin View Post
Because anything but in-studio applications, anything larger than ManhattanLCD's 10.9" enclosure is just too bulky and heavy to log around, IMHO.

In fact I like using ManhattanLCD even in studio.

Granted, when I can afford a heavy/bulky setup, I use Dell 2405 with Component in. Very easy to focus, gives excellent idea of how the picture will look/feel on larger screens, and color representation is OK too for non-critical viewing. And, you can see it across the small room :)
Well, I'm sure it doesn't have it, but I'll ask anyway. Does the ManhattanLCD have underscan? To me, it's a critical feature to have on a production monitor.
Eugene Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 08:53 AM   #33
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Ok, I'll bite (and keep in mind I see myself as reasonable knowledgeable so this is intriguing to me) - I was under the impression that underscan was absolutely necessary on CRT monitors to show us what is happening outside the bezel (represented by action safe markers) and/or viewable scan lines but as long as we had a 1:1 pixel ratio on an LCD (meaning we can see ALL the active pixels on a one to one basis), the monitor was ESSENTIALLY doing the same thing as underscan (without the "wasted" black space around the smaller underscanned image) in that we are able to see all the pixels. Have I just learned something new? Do LCDs still do a crop that I wasn't aware of?

Thanks for asking the question Eugene.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 09:18 AM   #34
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
ManhattanLCD does not show the entire image, unfortunately.

I'm not aware if there's a special mode to force it to do so.

I'm referring to 10.9" one - thanks to M. Paul for the correction. I use its Component input.

Last edited by Alex Raskin; October 11th, 2008 at 08:40 AM. Reason: Added clarification on monitor model.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2008, 11:02 PM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 107
Which one? The two controllers, MST & Pixelworks are different.
My 7.2" w/pixelworks shows the whole image if set to do so.
I'll run some screen shots later.
GearNinja.com DIY > Manhattan LCD
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Raskin View Post
ManhattanLCD does not show the entire image, unfortunately.

I'm not aware if there's a special mode to force it to do so.
Attached Thumbnails
quick advice needed: battery for Manhattan monitor-mlcd7_2.jpg  
M. Paul El-Darwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2008, 08:38 AM   #36
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
10.9" one, which is the only one they supply with enclosure. I use its Component input.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2008, 03:35 AM   #37
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Just got the Manhattan HD monitor and must say there is no hue shift towards blue - the picture is great even with the standard settings.

I also bought the Tekkeon 3450 battery - very nice and well done device.

I only have one problem: when I velcroed the battery to the monitor's back, the Component input picture disappeared! I was horrified, cause I thought the monitor just broke down - but removing the battery cured it. Lack of electro-magnetic shielding, or what?

Do you guys have your Manhattan monitors working with a battery attached?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive

Last edited by Piotr Wozniacki; October 24th, 2008 at 04:11 AM.
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 01:49 AM   #38
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Alex at al,

Do your monitors react in the same way when a battery is attached to them?

I asked John of ManhattanLCD, but he didn't answer directly - saying something about the correct battery voltage and adapter/plug...
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 07:59 AM   #39
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Piotr, no - I have the battery velcroed to the back of the monitor, and no issues.

John can be spotty replying to inquiries, yes... but he did provide great service to me when I needed the monitor badly, and he officially did not ship it yet at that time.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 09:00 AM   #40
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks Alex - no good news for me :(

BTW, are you using 9V or 12V setting with your Tekkeon battery?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 09:13 AM   #41
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
9V, as it apparently does not affect picture but prolongs battery life w this monitor setup by lowering power consumption...
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 09:26 AM   #42
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Raskin View Post
9V, as it apparently does not affect picture but prolongs battery life w this monitor setup by lowering power consumption...
Mine is also at 9V; I tried 12V but no difference - still switches the display off... Interestingly, it doesn't happen when I put the battery close to the monitor edge, rather than centrally (in the vertical position). When the display vanishes, there is the 480p green indicator in the top right corner of a couple of seconds; then everything goes black. After removing the battery, the same indicator reads (properly) 1080i.

The nice people at ManhattanLCD must have forgotten to put some shielding inside; I don't even want to think about the hassle of sending it back...The obvious solution would be to fix the battery to the tripod somewhere (instead of the monitor back), but with such configuration the cable (quite short) gets twisted around the whole thing when I pan with the camera.

Arghhh!!!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 10:07 AM   #43
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
my battery is positioned horizontally along the monitor's long side, smack in the middle of the rear panel.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 10:45 AM   #44
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Raskin View Post
my battery is positioned horizontally along the monitor's long side, smack in the middle of the rear panel.
I tried this position, and it works - but only with the battery cable output near the monitor edge; when I twist it 180 deg (i.e. the battery cable socket near the monitor vertical axis), the picture is gone again.

So it looks like the only position where it works is with the battery I/O panel as far away from the monitor center as possible; not the most convenient placing. But it would confirm that the monitor (or at least my unit) lacks some sort of electromagnetic shielding.

Alex, could you try and place the battery vertically, with the cable downward, to check it for me whether it's just my unit?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2008, 08:03 PM   #45
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Piotr, seems like your monitor has a problem.

I just re-checked on your request, and mine does not exhibit any issues like you described, no matter where do I put the battery.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network