Do I need a HD monitor for proper editing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2003, 02:51 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Do I need a HD monitor for proper editing?

Do I have to have a HD monitor to do proper editing? I have read of "enhanced artifacting" from the software encoder/decoders. Is that based on the quality of the decoder and better ones will be released or is it an inherent quality of previewing mp2-ts on CRT's?
Why I'm asking is that I'm ready to jump on the camera but can't afford a HD monitor at the same time. Will I be editing blind(so to speak) on my 19" crt?
__________________
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2003, 11:24 AM   #2
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
The simple answer is "no."

You can see what you are editing on your computer's RGB monitor in 16:9.

But, color correction will be less accurate although certainly not impossible.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2003, 03:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
how?

Can I connect the camcoder to a ordenary vga display? And if so, what port on the camera do I use? Explain more!!
/j
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2003, 04:46 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39
Not sure what you mean by High Definition. True High Definition is considered 1920 x 1080 which would take
a large CRT monitor and capable video card.

I have never tried to display directly through my computer monitor but I would think it would be possible through the firewire port with the appropriate software.

If I want to play back directly from the camera I go though my DVHS firewire to projector. The resolution of my projector is only 1280 x 720 and is not true HD.
Randall Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2003, 05:18 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
Ok

Ok, thanks! Than I understand...
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2003, 05:40 PM   #6
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Re: how?

<<<-- Originally posted by John Eriksson : Can I connect the camcoder to a ordenary vga display? And if so, what port on the camera do I use? Explain more!!
/j -->>>

You connect your VGA monitor to your computer. And monitor using it.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2003, 08:52 PM   #7
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
<<<-- Originally posted by Randall Morton : The resolution of my projector is only 1280 x 720 and is not true HD. -->>>

1280 x 720 is considered high-def, just as 1920 x 1080 is high-def. The original spec called for 1280x720 at 60p, whereas 1920 x 1080 was at 60i. But both resolutions are included in the standard for HDTV.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2003, 09:50 AM   #8
CineForm (Aspect HD)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 57
While you can't directly connect your JY-HD10U to a PC/RGB monitor you can use Viewsonics NextVision 6 which accepts HD component input and that can be hooked to an RGB monitor.
Phil Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2003, 11:45 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39
High Definition Standard is 1080i. This is 1920 x 1080 @ 60fps interlaced. Anything less than this is not true high def by definition.
Randall Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2003, 12:07 PM   #10
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Take a look at the ATSC Table 3 before you talk about TRUE HD. You are simply wrong as there is no such thing in the USA.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:22 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 18
Samsung

Samsung has a nice line of HD capabable monitors (LCD, and Plasma)

here is one that I saw at a retailer and the price was about $600

http://www.samsung.com/Products/Monitor/LCDMonitor/Monitor_LCDMonitor_172W.htm

It is better quality than the Viewsonic wide LCD model.


here is a review:

http://www.monkeyreview.com/reviews/review.php?num=240&page=1

Let me know what you decided on, I will also be configuring an editing setup on a budget.
__________________
Fernando Vossa

The real voyage of discovery consists of not in seeking new landscapes
but in having new eyes.
- Marcel Proust
Fernando Vossa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:22 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 18
Samsung

Samsung has a nice line of HD capabable monitors (LCD, and Plasma)

here is one that I saw at a retailer and the price was about $600

http://www.samsung.com/Products/Monitor/LCDMonitor/Monitor_LCDMonitor_172W.htm

It is better quality than the Viewsonic wide LCD model.


here is a review:

http://www.monkeyreview.com/reviews/review.php?num=240&page=1

Let me know what you decided on, I will also be configuring an editing setup on a budget.
__________________
Fernando Vossa

The real voyage of discovery consists of not in seeking new landscapes
but in having new eyes.
- Marcel Proust
Fernando Vossa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 07:01 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
I just bought a Samsung 1575W from Office Depot here in Vancouver. Great price of only $849.00 canadian. Thats about $611.00 US.

Wide screen and everything.

Cheers

DBK
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 08:49 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 39
"Take a look at the ATSC Table 3 before you talk about TRUE HD. You are simply wrong as there is no such thing in the USA".

I'd forgotten about this thread but was reading a review on a JVC and they were talking about true HD. Regardless of what the ATSC table says, most people do not consider anything less than 1920 x 1080 true HD. Here is the link.

http://www.hifi-writer.com/blog/20031009.htm#20031011-1732
Randall Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 10:42 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
"most people do not consider anything less than 1920 x 1080 true HD"

Then they are ignorant.
Peter Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network