Datacolour Spyder3 Pro or TV ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2009, 02:02 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 63
Datacolour Spyder3 Pro or TV ?

I'm just wondering which product to purchase as I cannot afford to buy much at the moment, so it's one or the other for the time being.
I thought if I bought the Spyder3 TV, that I could still calibrate my computer monitors as well ?

I do HD editing, and the videos are for TV as well as the internet so I need some kind of calibration happening as I'm just guessing at the moment.

Cheers for any help !
Rob O'Day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 09:05 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Why not just run bars into your production monitor and do a proper setup?
That will save you the expense of buying something you don't need.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2009, 09:13 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
David,

putting bars on the screen is easy, but what would be the procedure for setting from them?
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2009, 04:23 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Here is a link... - Color Bars
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 04:59 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 63
It's the brightness/contrast I have problems with, looks fine on my PC monitor but very bright on the TV.
Rob O'Day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 06:11 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2
That's right

It's going to look different on a computer monitor and a television. Especially a CRT to a flat screen. The way these devices handle color and brightness is different. Most people use a reference monitor alongside their computer monitor and adjust color and brightness according to that. You can calibrate your computer monitor but you're not going to have accurate color still because it does not display the same as a CRT. You can use an LCD reference monitor, but they cost quite a lot. If you don't have a monitor, use a vectorscope and a waveform monitor to help you.
Jonathan Heppner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 06:15 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2
spyder 3 pro

If you have a spyder 3 pro you can buy software to use it on your tv. It is the same device, it just has different software between the tv, pro and elite.

Last edited by Jonathan Heppner; March 18th, 2010 at 07:06 PM. Reason: I looked into it
Jonathan Heppner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network