8/9" lcd monitor for EX3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 23rd, 2009, 06:37 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: morbihan/france and enfield/uk
Posts: 42
8/9" lcd monitor for EX3

I am thinking of purchasing an 8 or 9" lcd monitor to use with my Ex3 does anyone have any recommendations, would prefer something good in the mid price range really and would be great if it had focus peaking. Would the built in EX3 focus peaking work with any monitor?
Steve Benjamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 07:03 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Unfortunately, external monitoring doesn't convey peaking, zebras, histogram, or the DOF bar - therefore, in order for a monitor to really be usable, it needs to be as big and high res as possible.

My Manhattan 10.9" is bulky and not so nice to handle, but at 1366x763 resolution at least the focus is spot on each time.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 08:42 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
This is the one I've been looking at: ($999 list)

Marshall Electronics -- V-LCD70P-HDA

Can't decide whether to spend the extra money to get HD-SDI input. But I like all the features it has (watch the video). Peaking, exposure help, etc...
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 08:53 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 233
This one is expensive, but very nice ...
Nebtek | NEB70HDS 7" HD-SDI Onboard Camera | NEB70HDS | B&H
Brian Barkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: York, UK.
Posts: 224
I have one of these which I like.

I've got a TV Logic monitor which I like a lot - [LVM 071W - (click on links on left)] - but it wasn't cheap though. Has a few tricks up it's sleeve.

Jus.

Last edited by Justin Benn; March 23rd, 2009 at 11:11 AM. Reason: Parsed link incorrectly.
Justin Benn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2009, 03:19 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
Unfortunately, external monitoring doesn't convey peaking, zebras, histogram, or the DOF bar - therefore, in order for a monitor to really be usable, it needs to be as big and high res as possible.
Yes, this is a major bummer. For future models, I'd like to have a Black&White LCD mode with blue peaking. Also, I'd like to have the Expanded Mode sent to the monitor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piotr Wozniacki View Post
My Manhattan 10.9" is bulky and not so nice to handle, but at 1366x763 resolution at least the focus is spot on each time.
I like the Manhattan LCD, but my take on HD monitors is that often it is difficult to distinguish most SD from HD on a monitor that is 11" when viewed from a working distance of only two feet. SD would be totally adequate at 8-11" and 720p monitors would be sufficient. Consider one of those 720p TVs at 15".
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 08:58 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
[Can't decide whether to spend the extra money to get HD-SDI input.]

Spend the extra $$$ for HD-SDI input.

Not having to deal with the flimsy component connection under the handle is worth it in my opinion.

I have a TV Logic 7" HD-SDI monitor and it is so nice just to hook in one cable and run with it.
__________________
Reel Inspirations - www.reelinspirations.com
Commercials, Dramas, Image Pieces, Documentaries, Motion Graphics
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 09:07 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Thanks James.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 16
Spend what you can

I bought the Marshall V-R84DP-HD last year.
Nice monitor, but pricey back then. It has Blue-only and is rack mountable.
I wanted every input I might need for different cameras. HD/SDI is great-one cable and you are set with great detail.
I love the pixel-pixel feature-great for checking focus.

Panasonic also is making nice-though bulkier 8-9" HD monitors. My old company bought one recently but it is fat and needs to sit on a flat surface.

My Marshall came with a 1/4" screw mount plate. I added 2 more on the sides, bent a piece of 1" wide flat aluminum (shaped like goal posts), put some thumb-screws on the sides, added a quick-release mount from a consumer-grade video tripod.
I now have a secure mount, monitor that tilts and can easily be raised by the tripod for clients, director etc.
Paul Zwicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 01:04 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Narberth, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2
What tricks?

This looks very nice. What are the special tricks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Benn View Post
I've got a TV Logic monitor which I like a lot - [LVM 071W - (click on links on left)] - but it wasn't cheap though. Has a few tricks up it's sleeve.

Jus.
Ron Stanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2009, 08:17 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 591
I really like the nebtek.... EX batts go on the back.... I can't shoot without it.
Christopher Witz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2009, 09:19 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
What would it take or cost to make a 9" monitor with pixels as densly packed as the EX LCD?

This is what is needed to view the monitor so closely and still resolve the detail for focus.

I see a lot of lower resolution monitors being sold and this just won't cut it outside of a studio situation for critical, shallow dof focussing.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2009, 11:52 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 565
TVLOGIC 071w & 091w

the manual says "waveform monitor" for SDI input.
Will the waveform be show thru the analog inputs too?

When I compare it to the new Sony LMD940, the manual seems also to limit the WFM for SDI inputs, but it works with analog signals too (very nice for loop thru).

Any owners here?

ULi
Uli Mors is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network