Need HELP viewing an external monitor via firewire through the JVC DH30000U at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 29th, 2004, 07:25 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
Need HELP viewing an external monitor via firewire through the JVC DH30000U

Hi guys, I have the JVC DH 30000U deck, and I want to be able to use the firewire port as a pass through so I can use the view external monitor option on my computer's NLE software (Vegas) to view video on an extrernal monitor or tv. Thus far I have connected the firewire cable to my computer and to the back of the 30000U deck. I then connected my NSTC monitor to the deck via svideo cables. The screen shows the channel and setup setting for the deck but I can't seem to get it to recognize the firewire signal coming from the computer to the deck. What am I doing wrong. What setting should I be using....HELP.


Thanks
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2004, 11:33 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ridgefield Park, New Jersey, USA
Posts: 572
I don't own a deck so I can't help you, but you will probably get more responses by posting this message in one of the editing forums (MAC or PC), and including which software/settings you are using...although I do you use my camcorder to passthrough D-to-A (PC's Firewire to Camcorder's S-Vid to my TV). For this to work my camera has to be in VCR mode and that's it. Only real advice I can give is to make sure your deck is set to video in. But post in one of the editing forums, and I'm sure somebody will clear it up for you.
Jesse Bekas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2004, 12:27 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I don't anything about that specific deck. We have two Avid firewire systems connected to DSR1800 DVCAM decks, via firewire, and the decks then go to the monitors via S-video. There are push buttons on the deck to tell the deck to receive the firewire signal. If they have been switched to component or composite inadvertantly, then the deck doesn't see the firewire signal. Your deck may have an internal menu setting that does the same thing. I'd start there first.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2004, 08:41 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
I am checking to see if this deck has those features (though I don't remember seeing them in the manual). Vegas is set to output to external monitor via firewire, and the deck works, but so far no luck.
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 05:56 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
not sure, but what are you sending with the DV-link ?
d-vhs are able to send HD signal on the firewire, but it is mpeg2-ts that require special software from the PC side.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 08:41 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
I am only using the firewire dv link to the deck to send avi, ts (m2t), mpeg2 streams from either vegas or premiere to my external monitor. I am only using the deck as a pass through (daisey chained) line.
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 08:47 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Are there other Firewire devices on the chain? If so try it once with the VTR as the only Firewire device. I've read several reports of Firewire devices not playing friendly.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 09:36 AM   #8
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Have you made sure you're getting video and audio to the deck? I guess the only way to do that, if it's not passing through, would be to record something on tape and then play it back. If that works, then you are definitely getting the firewire signal to the deck. Then, it would have to be a problem with the deck not giving you video out. If you're using S-video out, probably the first thing to check would be the cable. Those S cables really suck.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network