connecting a monitor for color correction at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2005, 10:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
connecting a monitor for color correction

i just received a nine inch sony monitor and i have no idea how to connect it. basically I got two cables don't know what to do with it... on the top of it i have to get the project done by tomorow evening!

thanx for your help
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 11:08 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
There's three places you have to look at.

Final Cut- set the canvas and viewer to fit to window or smaller. make sure they aren't over 100% zoom.

make sure final cut is sending video out to firewire... it's in the preferences somewhere.

2- Your deck/camera- needs to be able to convert DV-->A/V out. Nearly all equipment does this.

It needs to be set to convert DV-->A/V out, not the other way around. This is a menu setting while the equipment is in VCR mode.

3- Attach the yellow RCA jack from your camcorder's A/V cable to the back of the monitor. You may need a RCA-BNC adapter for most broadcast monitors.
Or use S-video (may be called Y/C on the monitor).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 11:13 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
thanx glen. two other question. i got two connections on the monitor: "IN A" and "IN B", on which one do i connect the yellow cable? and secondly what about the red cable isn't the one i'm supposed to get the sound back with?
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 05:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
ok i just connected the deck vie the s-video cable. i got the display on the monitor but i don't have fcp display neither on the cam nor on the monitor.
unfortunately since i got my boss's sh...y samsung camcorder i don't have the dv to a/v mode so i guess it's just screwed...
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 05:18 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Welland ON
Posts: 515
What version of FCP are you running, if you're running ver 5 you need to go to the view menu and set external video to all frames
__________________
"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty."
Nate Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 05:32 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
i'm running with verson 3
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 16th, 2005, 05:48 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
by the way i was told that decks such as camcorders were not totally reliable and therefore calibrating with FCP is necessary. how do i calibrate with FCP?
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2005, 04:04 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
i finally got a right deck but the calibrating part is giving a real hard time. i followed the insctuctions from the FCP manual but it doesn't add up, any trick for that?
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2005, 04:18 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Does this help?

http://www.videouniversity.com/tvbars2.htm
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2005, 04:54 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
it looked damn interesting unfortunately i'm running PAL...
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2005, 05:00 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Hmm, is it different? FCP should be able to give you PAL color bars (under effects > video generators) and I always assumed the procedure to calibrate would be the same. I also found this which implies as much, but honestly I just don't know...

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/archive/index.php/t-544.html

Let's see if I can get Rob's attention to this thread, since that ancient one was initiated by him...
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2005, 05:32 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: sevilla
Posts: 116
i'm not positive but i think they're different
Yohann Kouam is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network