connecting television set as my monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 16th, 2006, 08:48 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: las vegas, nevada
Posts: 24
connecting television set as my monitor

im editing with final cut pro 4,
and im using my camera as my dv deck.
i am trying to connect my television to view my work as a monitor
does anyone know how to do this, or what i need to be able to connect it
i just want to be able to view it on the tv, while i work..
im not really using it for color correction or anything.
thanks
Ryan Tate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 12:07 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Palm Desert, CA.
Posts: 46
I'm pretty sure connecting your tv to your video card is the only option. Depends on what connections your computer card and television have.

I have two 20 inch monitors I use when I use my vegas 6 that connect to my video card. I also have my 42 inch plasma I use to preview my work. I think that's what your trying to accomplish. I use a s-video cable to attach my plasma to my computer.

Hope this helps, it works for me.
Matthew Lombardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 12:16 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 105
Connect your camera via firewire to the computer. Connect the video out (s-video, composite, component - whatever your camera has) to your TV. Put the camera in deck or vcr mode. Start your NLE program and the video should appear on the TV. There may be a setting within your NLE to activate this function.

Duane
Duane Burleson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 01:28 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duane Burleson
Connect your camera via firewire to the computer. Connect the video out (s-video, composite, component - whatever your camera has) to your TV. Put the camera in deck or vcr mode. Start your NLE program and the video should appear on the TV. There may be a setting within your NLE to activate this function.
That would work, but you'd sure log a lot of extra hours on your camera.
__________________
Mark Utley
Mark Utley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 02:02 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 595
Mark, surely just having a camera turned on will have no negative effect? It's not like the heads would be used?
Chris Hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 03:59 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Tate
im editing with final cut pro 4,
and im using my camera as my dv deck.
i am trying to connect my television to view my work as a monitor
does anyone know how to do this, or what i need to be able to connect it
i just want to be able to view it on the tv, while i work..
im not really using it for color correction or anything.
thanks
Another option is a bidirectional firewire A/D converter box such as those from Canopus or ADS. I have a Canopus ADVC-110 that works like a champ. Note: If you go this route you do need to make sure it's bidirectional - the lower-priced converters are one-way only, allowing you to capture DV from an analog source such as a VCR but they don't go the other way, converting DV back to analog for monitoring.
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!

Last edited by Steve House; September 17th, 2006 at 10:17 AM.
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 09:25 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Utley
That would work, but you'd sure log a lot of extra hours on your camera.
I really don't think that will be much of an issue. Like Chris said, you aren't putting any wear and tear on the mechanical parts. I've used my VX-2000 for this for extended periods and it's still going strong after 4 years.

However the only concern might be running the camera plugged into an A/C adaptor for long periods of time. We've seen reports here of camera that have been damage by line power spikes when connected to the power line. I always run my Z1 on battery power and use an external charger. Of course I'm just paranoid about this because the Z1 is a pretty expensive camera. :-)

Steve's suggestion is a good one too. You can get the ADS Pyro box pretty cheaply. Another possibility would be connecting a DVD recorder to your Mac via fireire and hooking a monitor up to that.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network