newb question: ways to watch what just filmed at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

The View: Video Display Hardware and Software
Video Monitors and Media Players for field or studio use (all display technologies).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 15th, 2007, 04:15 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 18
newb question: ways to watch what just filmed

I'm new to digital video and was wondering how people watch what they have just shot. Right now I'm just hooking my camera up to a tv via rca video cable but understand this is not the best way to do it.
I have heard of "players" that hook into an LCD or a some type of hdtv. Is this the best way to go. What are the price ranges for such players and and where to buy them? Also what monitors do people use to hook into the player? Thanks much.
Charles Culpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 04:22 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,742
Welcome. Before being able to answer meaningfully we'd need to know what format you're shooting in. Is your camera mini-DV tape, direct to DVD, or what? What camera? Are you editing your material or just wanting to view the raw material?
__________________
Good news, Cousins! This week's chocolate ration is 15 grams!
Steve House is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 07:22 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve House
Welcome. Before being able to answer meaningfully we'd need to know what format you're shooting in. Is your camera mini-DV tape, direct to DVD, or what? What camera? Are you editing your material or just wanting to view the raw material?
Thanks. Tape is mini DV. Camera is a Canon XL1.
I was just wanting to view the raw material, just so I could quickly look at how the lighting affected my shots.
Charles Culpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 10:29 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
If I recall, the XL1 has composite and Svideo out. Composite is a bit lower quality than Svideo, but your probably won't notice that much difference on a standard TV.

As I understand it, there are a select few Monitors out there that actually have firewire input, that would give you better quality.

Finally, you can play you video to your computer system through fire wire into your editing system, and actually use the capture screen as a monitor...
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 10:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 309
Hi Charles,

What situation are you trying to play back in ?? Indoors with electric, outside without ??

I use either a CRT 13" Monitor on electric, or an 8" to 10" LCD screen on battery power.

I use these at most every shoot I do, and use in real time to track subjects.
Seldom use the Cam's Viewfinfer or side LCD unit except for first setup.

Harold
Harold Schreiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 08:58 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
If I recall, the XL1 has composite and Svideo out. Composite is a bit lower quality than Svideo, but your probably won't notice that much difference on a standard TV.

As I understand it, there are a select few Monitors out there that actually have firewire input, that would give you better quality.

Finally, you can play you video to your computer system through fire wire into your editing system, and actually use the capture screen as a monitor...
Hi Chris. Yes the way you described - use the capture screen as a monitor is what I have been doing. Good points about monitor with firewire.
Charles Culpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 08:59 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold Schreiber
Hi Charles,

What situation are you trying to play back in ?? Indoors with electric, outside without ??

I use either a CRT 13" Monitor on electric, or an 8" to 10" LCD screen on battery power.

I use these at most every shoot I do, and use in real time to track subjects.
Seldom use the Cam's Viewfinfer or side LCD unit except for first setup.

Harold
Hi Harold. I'm watching inside my house with electricity.
Charles Culpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 11:37 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 309
Hi Charles,

Gosh, that makes your situation easy.

You might consider getting a stand-alone HardDrived DVD Burner/Player, and going from the Cam using the Firewire to it, and from it to whatever type, and sized, monitor you want.

That way you could put video to the hardrive and review it at will, and as often as you want, with out having to use your Cam as a tape rewinder/player repeatedly.

Depending on what you're doing, you could then do simple editing and put your video directly to DVDs.

Or, when you've got the video you want, dump it form your Cam to your computer for editing.

The small size of the capture screen of your editing system is a rather meager way to see what you've done.

I do this with two Panasonic HHD / DVD units. Saves the Cam's Tape mechanism too.

Harold
Harold Schreiber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2007, 11:52 PM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 3
I think he is concerned with wearing out the heads if he uses the camera to play back the footage he just shot.

I have the same concern with my XL2. My friend recommended buying a lower cost DV camcorder and playing back on that to preserve the heads on the XL2....I haven't tryed that yet, because we don't know if it will work.
Does anyone know if that is a good solution to prevent unneeded head wear and tear????
Only other option is to buy a DV deck to playback and rip fire from.
Garrick Daft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:44 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 136
Garrick,

It works fine. I use a Canon Elura to keep from wearing my XL2's heads. Any mini dv camera will do.
__________________
Mike A
Mike Andrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 02:18 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
for cheap you can contimue with the RCA cable on camera to monitor.
but more than heaqd from the camera, i would worried by the stress you put on the original tape by frequent rewinding and playbacks (drops).
a step ahead would be to purchase a cheap DV<-->video converter such the canopus ADVC-100.
you can glue it on a monitor and have firewire directly into monitor.
these would not really improve from the first solution, and even add the complexity of finding long firewire cables if needed.
the third solution is to build on the second one and hook a PC to the converter, so you can record DV to computer and play it from there.
It is much more easy , you can do frame by frame, pause etc.. with no risk for the tape.
if a PC seems too big for you, you can replace it by a DV hardisk, but the cost are almost the same with less feature (for 700$ you can find a laptop with screen+keyboard and mouse+many other features, while a DV hardisk will cost around the same with basically only few buttons).
if all of this seems to expensive, just find a S-VHS recorder and use the Y/C plug from the camera to record good signal with replayability.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 03:06 AM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Andrade
Garrick,

It works fine. I use a Canon Elura to keep from wearing my XL2's heads. Any mini dv camera will do.
That's good to know, thanks!

Can I do the same (use a camcorder) to rip the footage to a PC?? Say for instance I shoot some 24P 16:9 footage on the XL2.... will there be any quality/ information loss?
Garrick Daft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 06:09 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 136
The tape keeps all the original information. The camera just serves as a medium to transfer to the computer. The only thing that can cause quality loss is maybe dirty heads.
__________________
Mike A
Mike Andrade is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The View: Video Display Hardware and Software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network