External Hard Drive Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2007, 06:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
External Hard Drive Problem

I just upgraded my storage capacity by getting a 500GB external hard drive. I got it all set up and ready to capture. I changed the scratch disk setting to save the videos to the drive. It says there's 400GB+ of room for capture, yet after about 9 minutes of capturing it stops and says there isn't enough disk space for caputre. I use FCP to edit and I have the feeling I'm missing a vital setting change. Does anyone know what might be the problem? I'd really appreciate the help.

thanks,
Sean
Sean Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 06:47 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Johnson View Post
I just upgraded my storage capacity by getting a 500GB external hard drive. I got it all set up and ready to capture. I changed the scratch disk setting to save the videos to the drive. It says there's 400GB+ of room for capture, yet after about 9 minutes of capturing it stops and says there isn't enough disk space for caputre. I use FCP to edit and I have the feeling I'm missing a vital setting change. Does anyone know what might be the problem? I'd really appreciate the help.

thanks,
Sean
Aren't scratch disk and capture disk two different settings?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 07:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Winter View Post
Aren't scratch disk and capture disk two different settings?
i honestly don't know the difference. i use the scratch disk to capture my footage. capturing has always been straight forward for me when editing. i haven't had to adjust the settings in a long time. not since i was in college.
Sean Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 07:22 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 126
I don't use FCP but the scratch disk generally means capture disk. In PP you can set different disks for video, audio, preview renders etc.
Adam Hoggatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 09:44 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
i think the problem is the actual hard drive. there may be a format issue or i didn't install it correctly. i followed the install directions and i was prompted to restart my computer. every indication was that it installed ok. i tried to move a 10GB file to the hard drive and it gave me an error message about 6GB into the transfer. i have a few small video files already stored on the drive. i don't understand what the problem is.
Sean Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 10:02 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, ON. Canada
Posts: 374
Perhaps the hd is set to fat32 files which won't load larger than 6gb files. Try NTSF and you should have no problems.
Jason Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 10:09 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Bowers View Post
Perhaps the hd is set to fat32 files which won't load larger than 6gb files. Try NTSF and you should have no problems.
you're right! thanks for the help Jason.
Sean Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 11:11 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 77
has to be formated for mac

No, don't use NTSF with a mac, use disk utility and format it using Mac OS Extended(Journaled) and your problem will be fixed.
Josh Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2007, 11:16 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Green View Post
No, don't use NTSF with a mac, use disk utility and format it using Mac OS Extended(Journaled) and your problem will be fixed.
i didn't, he guided me in the right direction though.
Sean Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 07:56 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 680
funnily enough i would have answered this straight away if i had seen it earlier..

my last two 500gb externals (diff.makes) BOTH said the same message and BOTH needed formatting before accepting large video files (even though they arrived pre-formatted!)
Richard Wakefield is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network