Best settings for volume and quality on the iRiver? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2007, 11:41 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Best settings for volume and quality on the iRiver?

What are best setting for use at a wedding? I want it to be loud enough that it picks up the groom and hopefully the bride as well BUT I don't want it to be so loud that it is hissing...

thanks!
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2007, 12:06 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tromsoe Norway
Posts: 28
This has been discussed earlier in other topics.

One example is here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....50&postcount=6
Ronny Hofsoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2007, 03:24 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, ON. Canada
Posts: 374
If you google video university iriver there is a site with a complete set of instructions for setup on the iriver.
Jason Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 314
Not that it truly matters, but most of that little cheat sheet of iRiver settings came from my original post on August 6th, 2005 and not from Mark A. Foley on Aug. 28th 2005 or Video University.
(http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost....8&postcount=6).
John McManimie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 12:55 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
For some reason, I can't get my 790 Iriver to go to
Mono
44.1KHz
160 Kbps

Each time I try to set it to 160, it stops at the 96 and won't go past it, the same happens for Stereo.
I have the newest firmware...
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 10:42 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, MS
Posts: 48
Check your firmware revision.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Delaney View Post
For some reason, I can't get my 790 Iriver to go to
Mono
44.1KHz
160 Kbps

Each time I try to set it to 160, it stops at the 96 and won't go past it, the same happens for Stereo.
I have the newest firmware...
Your last statement is the root of the probolem ... the newer version limits your bit rate to the 96kbps setting. You'll have to downgrade it like I had to do with 2 of mine in order to get the 160 setting.
I find it so odd that their "upgrade" in firmware is a downgrade on these settings!
Denny Bryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2007, 11:53 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Great, I upgraded because I couldn't get anything but mono, now I find out I have to downgrade...sheesh.
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 01:18 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
It's not a matter of upgrade or downgrade. There are actually two types of firmware for the ifp series. The UMS (which you have) lets you see it as a drive in explorer and drag files to and from the iriver. It also limits you to 96 Kbps.

The 'manager' version (the default) does not have the 96 limit, but you must use the iriver Music Manager software to transfer files to and from the unit.

So go to the support/download section of iriver.com and find the latest manager version for your model. There are also special instructions on how to flash to the manager version if you have the UMS installed, so make sure to read that as well.
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 09:17 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
I have the MUSIC MANAGER - is that what you are talking about?

In fact, that is how I upgraded my firmware initially...is the information about this in the MUSIC MANAGER help files or on the iriver website?

And it is getting weirder. My computer sees the Iriver, but the Media Manager does not...
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 09:48 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tromsoe Norway
Posts: 28
Hi. iRiver can have two different ways of operating depending on the firmware that is installed. Manager version or UMS version.

The default/original is the media manager version, this makes the iRiver have no limits on the sampling.

The other, UMS makes iRiver work as a normal usb flash disk. UMS is a TLA for USB Mass Storage. And Media manager will not recognize it.

So - to sum it up. You are probably running a UMS version, that apply limits to the sampling and make using it through the mediamanager impossible.


-Ron
Ronny Hofsoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 09:57 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Delaney View Post
I have the MUSIC MANAGER - is that what you are talking about?
Yes, that's it.

Check this thread, (which you started!):

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...=100794&page=2

At the end I post a couple of links to firmware and instructions.
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 01:18 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Well, I tried what they asked and got a FIRMWARE ERROR when I moved the HEX files into the root and then tried to upgrade. So I am back at square one, the computer see the Iriver, but not the Media/Music Manager, so I don't really know how I am going to get this thing to work at full capacity at either stereo or mono...any other ideas?
David Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 01:37 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 1,585
Try this firmware:

http://www.iriver.com/support/down_ok.asp?idx=4326

My other link may have been for the 800 series. You have one of the 700 series?
__________________
.
http://www.nosmallroles.com
Vito DeFilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2007, 01:40 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Niagara Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,121
Yes, but the firmware I used was for the 700 series, but I will try the one you suggested, heck I have nothing to lose at this point...
ok, yep that fixed it. Thanks for that. I dropped the file in the Iriver and upgraded the firmware that way.
David Delaney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network