Camera shake fix at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 26th, 2009, 09:04 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Camera shake fix

If there is anything that bother me during post is seeing camera shake.
Just wander if anyone use any software to fix camera shake.
I am using Sony Vegas 9 but i don't think there is any plug in for this.
As well does any one use it for the entire video?
In other wards after you done with all the editing and color correction does anyone feed the entire video to this process and get 100% stable video?
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2009, 09:42 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I tend to do it before I grade, but yes, I've done entire videos that needed it. And no, Vegas has no tool for it. FCP, Avid, and Premiere do though. And you can use the free one in VirtualDut that's better than all three.

Some people use the Prodad Mercalli program. But it's the same thing that's available for free in Virtualdub.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 01:21 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dror Levi View Post
If there is anything that bother me during post is seeing camera shake.
Just wander if anyone use any software to fix camera shake.
I am using Sony Vegas 9 but i don't think there is any plug in for this.
As well does any one use it for the entire video?
In other wards after you done with all the editing and color correction does anyone feed the entire video to this process and get 100% stable video?
The thing you have to remember is that you lose all your framing with this software which also degrades the resolution. Far better to buy a tripod, monopod, fig rig etc.
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 02:02 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arta, Greece
Posts: 342
Prodad's Mercalli that was mentioned by Perrone is indeed an excellent software for stabilizing. And it works with Vegas too.
__________________
"A successful wedding videographer is the one that offers for viewing some excellent videos and some boring videos, and gets positive reviews for both".
Dimitris Mantalias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 08:25 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip Howells View Post
The thing you have to remember is that you lose all your framing with this software which also degrades the resolution. Far better to buy a tripod, monopod, fig rig etc.
Generally, the framing still stays in the overscan safe area, so it's not too bad. It can throw off pans a bit.

But yeah, good solid footage from a tripod or something is the way to shoot video.
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2009, 10:01 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Mac, Linux or PC? Shake will do it, AE will do it, Cinelerra will do it - Nuke, several plugins. There is some FCP stabilization, Motion has added smoothing when it sucked in the Shake stuff in the latest version as well.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 12:34 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Kellam View Post
Generally, the framing still stays in the overscan safe area, so it's not too bad.
It actually depends on how bad your shake is, the greater the shake the smaller the area which stays constantly in frame and which the software chooses as the "good"material - this can easily intrude from the safe area. Additionally, as Jeff says the software thinks all movement is shake and tries at least to "correct" normal camera movement.

The problem is when people use cures as complete solutions. Like most software cures this should be used in extreme moderation - and the longer the sequence to which it's applied the greater will be the intrusion.
Philip Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 10:16 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 768
I just started using the steady-cam filter in FCP for pans on my tripod... I have somewhat of undersized tripod for my camera. After adding in the filter though I was able to get the smooth flowing fluid pans that I was looking for. I was impressed. This filter also saved me when I was zoomed in tight and there was slight shakes from the vibrations of the floor traveling up my tripod legs.

I agree that this particular filter is just a bandage for potential problems and I wouldn't recommend shooting thinking that it'll be able to cover all scenarios.

steve
Stephen J. Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2009, 11:30 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
If you are using the deshaker script in Vegas Pro, and you are able to edit the script through simply changing a few code lines, you can really tailor the de-shake execution to your own parameters.

Although it is a repair/cleanup solution, it is still pretty effective and not too much of a hit on quality (although there are two renders involved using a "lossless" codec (of your choice)), depending on lots of factors. But because you end up with a lossless codec clip(s) of the original clip(s), expect the working project size to go up dramatically.

Here is the original script:
Deshaker Script

Here is an updated script:
New Deshaker for Sony Vegas
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2010, 07:07 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 560
Camera Shake

I ve noticed that my Sony Z5 Cameras are great except when I hand hold and use the HD footage rather then SD. For SD, Its not bad. For HD, you see EVERYTHING!

I ve learned to hold the camera with my right hand, and with my left hand hold the lens part. This is ok, but still could be better. I also try to use a tripod or glidecam because this is way smoother then hand holding in one place.

Also, for wedding toasts, I handhold one cam, and have a locked down camera. That way I can edit to the wide shot for the worst of the shaky, and use the tight handheld for most of it.

hope this helps!
Silas Barker
Wedding & Corporate Video Sacramento Roseville Folsom Auburn Lake Tahoe
Silas Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 10:32 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattaroy, WA
Posts: 22
Prodad Mercalli integrates seemlessly into Vegas. This for me is a big advantage because in post it's all about time to edit. There may be better out there but Mercalli is just a click or two away from reasonably stable footage.

Of course getting it right in the camera is the best option but that's not always possible with my run and gun style of shooting. Mercalli has saved my butt without slowing me down too much.

I shoot in HD but deliver mostly on DVD widescreen. This gives me lots of crop space for stabilization.

Also, shoot at as high a shutter speed as possible. This helps avoid the blurries when stabilizing the footage in post. This works great for bright settings (e.g. outdoors and daylight) and the stabilization won't hardly be noticable. Indoors or night is a different matter where low lighting forces a slow shutter. An unstable shot under these conditions can't be saved because of the motion blur so under low light conditions I shoot on tripod only.
__________________
http://pineforestmedia.com
Steve Isaacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2010, 11:21 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Mercalli is a very useful tool. I can't imagine a serious editor being without a deshaker of some sort. Can we just stipulate in future "how do I fix footage" threads that it goes without saying that it's better to shoot it right to start with? That is fundamentally obvious but the fact is that everyone is going to wind up with footage from time to time that needs "fixing" in one way or another.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network