Multi-cam post workflow in FCP with different codecs at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 18th, 2012, 07:22 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kingsburg, California
Posts: 84
Multi-cam post workflow in FCP with different codecs

Hi guys,

I posted this same question in a different forum, but then soon realized that there hasn't been a response posted to any question there in over a week. So, since I have no patience, and I trust you guys, and you'll actually answer me, I'll post it here too.

Here's my dilemma:

I'll be shooting for 2 weeks on a cruise ship and in Hawaii. The cruise line won't let me set up my Panasonic AC-160 on a tripod; but it looks like I can get away with using my JVC HM-100 due to the smaller form factor, but still no tripod. I'll also be using a Canon 7D, Panasonic X900M, and a GoPro. My question is, what format should I shoot in for best results in post? Delivery will be for the web and for DVD, so 720p is an option. I just hate to NOT shoot in 1080 when I can, so as to keep the HD/BluRay option open down the road. But I think the only format that all the cameras have in common is 720/60p (?)

My other concern besides matching frame rates is ingesting into FCP7. The JVC shoots in native QT format, but obviously the other cameras don't. Should I log and transfer everything, including the JVC footage, using ProRes? What would you guys say is the smartest way to go in order to make all these cameras get along on the FCP timeline?

Thanks,

Ben
__________________
“Get a good idea, and stay with it. Dog it, and work at it until it’s done, and done right.” – Walt Disney
Ben Creighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2012, 08:11 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 59
Re: Multi-cam post workflow in FCP with different codecs

Use Compressor to transcode to ProRes in whichever ratio you want (422, 444). It'll make your life much easier. I'm not sure if it'll let you multicam different codecs anyway. I know different frame sizes/frame rates won't work. In any case, it's a quick transcode in Compressor.

T
Tim Gilbertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2012, 02:05 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Re: Multi-cam post workflow in FCP with different codecs

Hi Ben,

Its a pain but as Tim says the most efficient way is to encode to ProRes. I use ProRes LT. I dealt with this back in 2008...
__________________
WeddingFilms.com>>
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network