Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2013, 09:36 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Central VA
Posts: 156
Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Assuming the performance is brightly lit, how good are these little cams at capturing footage from creative angles and editing alongside prosumer Sony's?
Rey Lowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2013, 12:01 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,087
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

The Hero3 is vastly improved over the Hero2 in terms of image quality and responds well to good lighting. Your exact application of course may or may not benefit. Rent one for an event and try it out.

I HAVE found that they tend to stop recording somewhat at random based on my experience thus far.
__________________
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2013, 04:11 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

In the interests of full disclosure, the Russians can do it :) ...


Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2013, 07:25 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southend-On-Sea, England
Posts: 368
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

i filmed a stage performance with 3x 5d mk ii's recently and put a gopro hd heo 2 up high facing out to the crowd expecting not to use the footage but I was surprised how good it looked and how often I went back to it. As you say it really is all down to lighting though, it needs to be good or the HD hero 2 falls down. Getting a 3 soon so will hope thats considerably better in low light
David J. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 02:22 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Here's one that I didn't shoot, but did edit and mix:


The cameras were four 5D's, one 60D and three HD Hero 2s.

The Heros were shooting up between the toms on one drum kit, overhead on the other drum kit and clamped to the end of the keyboard. I was shocked by how good the HD Heros looked, and I picked up a couple to add to my kit. I haven't used them for a shoot yet, but I plan to do the drum kit mount, as it is always tough to get good shots of the drummer.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 08:45 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

They look better than the DSLRs to me. (Is that blasphemy?)

To put it another way: clear, (reasonably) stable, interesting compositions beat shaky, out-of-focus, underexposed, badly composed images with rolling shutter problems, despite difference in price point, and despite shallow depth of field.
Adrian Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 08:53 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Tan View Post
They look better than the DSLRs to me. (Is that blasphemy?)

To put it another way: clear, (reasonably) stable, interesting compositions beat shaky, out-of-focus, underexposed, badly composed images with rolling shutter problems, despite difference in price point, and despite shallow depth of field.
Yeah, as I said, I edited and mixed it but did NOT shoot it. It was a shoot for a web series that didn't get used, and my client received the raw video and audio files and I did an edit and mix job. Believe it or not, these are the most stable shots (which is why I had to keep going back to the shot of the drummer). The rest of the footage looks like it was shot by ferrets.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 10:55 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arkansas City, Kansas
Posts: 27
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Great little cameras (for the price). I am a TD for a small TV sports network in southern Kansas. During basketball games we mount them behind the baskets as "slam cams" and route them to the EVS machines for some awesome replays.

I will admit, they are difficult to match (white balance) with the much more expensive cameras we use to cover the games. But as a "Flavor" shot with their super wide angle lens they are pretty amazing.
Zach Legleiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 01:09 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Legleiter View Post
I will admit, they are difficult to match (white balance) with the much more expensive cameras we use to cover the games. But as a "Flavor" shot with their super wide angle lens they are pretty amazing.
Which model are you using? Hero 2, Hero 3? White, Silver, Black? Are you using them in "ProTune" mode?
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 12:05 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arkansas City, Kansas
Posts: 27
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Chris, we have Hero2's
Zach Legleiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 01:11 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

I wish they had a manual white balance option, but based on the things they have added already, it may appear at some point in the future. I have the GoPro App on my Android Galaxy Tab tablet, and it is so much easier to set options on it than the painful process of navigating through menus with only two buttons.

I haven't tried it yet, but I understand the ProTune option extends the record quality and dynamic range of the cameras, but would probably not be of much use if you are using them live as a component source.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 03:20 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Since it's release I have read quite a lot about the 3 version stopping randomly during recording, would that still be the case? That's one of the reasons why I have not bought it yet, if I can't trust it to record safely as long as the battery powers it I don't care how good the rest is as that won't matter if you have no recording at all. Second is that in Belgium it's expensive (the black version costs 650 dollar here)
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 08:45 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Don't know. I only have Hero 2s like yourself.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2013, 01:14 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 148
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Shot my first show with the GoPros this weekend.

They worked, but the wi-fi link is NOT reliable in real-world usage. I was able to start them, but once started, the preview disappeared and I was not able to get it to come back. to ensure that I still had the image. I really need the update where I can have multiple cameras on one wi-fi link.Dropping one wi-fi connection and trying to make another to switch camera views is a major pain. If I had known that I was not going to be able to preview, I would have set them up to record in ProTune more.

All that said, I did get the full show on both cameras.
Chris DeVoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2013, 02:02 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
Re: Anyone Using GoPro's for Stage Event Work?

Most of my work is theatrical - so here's a clip under normal stage lighting.

Last edited by Paul R Johnson; April 8th, 2013 at 03:19 PM.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network