How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2013, 12:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pasco Washington
Posts: 128
How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

For those of you wedding videographers that shoot mass amounts of weddings a year, I was wondering how often you guys do clean reinstalls on your workstation computers? Once every year? couple years? The reason I was asking was because some videographers I've chatted with said they NEVER do. They just upgrade their computers every 5 years or so.
Kelly Huffaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 08:31 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

I upgrade every so-and-so years - for instance when I started editing DSLR footage.

But in between I do defrags, registry cleanings, file clean ups, restores, disc checks, blah, blah, blah. Never had a problem yet and I would highly recommend a nice schedule of digital maintenance like this to keep a machine going.
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 10:26 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

I do it when performance begins to decline enough that I can tell the difference. This is usually at around 6 months or even a year, it just depends. I don't do it for the sake of doing it. I used to do it every few months, but I found it was unnecessary.

I do not run virus protection, never have. If my internet gets buggy, which can happen, I will do a clean install at that point.

My idea of a clean install is a full formatting, ie., a complete zeroing out of the hard drive that takes an hour or two.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 10:45 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

If your edit machine is solely dedicated to editing - meaning no internet, no email, no other apps, no updates, you "just edit", and you keep temp files and cache cleaned and drives defragged, you could theoretically go for years! In other words, just use the machine as an "appliance" and it is trouble-free. The Newtek TriCaster video switchers are Windows-based under the hood, and if you don't mess with things, they will run a good long time without issue.

We do from time to time get calls from NLE workstation customers that will claim to still be happily using the workstation we sold them 6 or 7 years ago, having never connected to the internet or done ANY upgrades. They just keep working when you don't mess with things.

In my own case, I install way too many little apps and such and use the machine as an all-purpose email, web browsing, iTunes, etc. machine and find that about once a year things deteriorate to where I need a full reinstall. In fact, I am overdue as the last several weeks things have gotten progressively worse and I'm having a lot of problems editing. I don't mind reinstalling Windows and Adobe so much, that goes pretty quickly - it is all the other little stuff, like email and dozens of other apps, many electronic, that require me to keep track of the downloaded files AND the license keys. Ugh.
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 01:23 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 588
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

My workstation (Thruster2000) is totally off the grid. No Adobe, MS updates are going to screw with my baby. All non-essential services are disabled (dhcp, networking, themes etc) Runs solid and reliable 24/7.

I transfer anything I need to upload via USB stick onto my online machine which I use for printing covers, email, games, watching porn and torrenting.
John Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 01:38 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

I've never had to reinstall a Mac from scratch, though I am sure others probably have.

I have had to do it to Windows computers over the years, and is one of the reasons I no longer use Windows on a daily basis.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 01:44 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Reading, PA USA and Athens, Greece
Posts: 269
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

i rarely, if ever update. and i keep a backup copy of my SSD on an old HDD, so if anything goes awry i can simply connect and boot from the backup hdd and clone over the messed up drive with the original clean working image over the screwed up one. Eventually ill get another SSD and clone the clean image, and just swap them back and forth and copy over the corrupted one in the background. much more efficient.
Panagiotis Raris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 01:49 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Partington View Post
I've never had to reinstall a Mac from scratch, though I am sure others probably have.

I have had to do it to Windows computers over the years, and is one of the reasons I no longer use Windows on a daily basis.
I had to reinstall last summer because of hardware failure: the iMac HD completely failed. A few months ago I upgraded the system disk in the Windows machine. The only reason reinstalled from scratch was because I thought it would be easier than figuring out how to move everything to a new disk. In retrospect, I'm not sure it was easier, but it was not that difficult either.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2013, 04:51 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Olson View Post
I had to reinstall last summer because of hardware failure: the iMac HD completely failed.
To me, that's a reasonable reason for a complete re-install, but it's hard to blame the OS for a hard disk failure ;)
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 08:17 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 688
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Olson View Post
I had to reinstall last summer because of hardware failure: the iMac HD completely failed. A few months ago I upgraded the system disk in the Windows machine. The only reason reinstalled from scratch was because I thought it would be easier than figuring out how to move everything to a new disk. In retrospect, I'm not sure it was easier, but it was not that difficult either.
When a system HD (HD with OS) is failing, there are usually warning signs before complete failure (on Mac and Windows). Everything will freeze, including the cursor. The freezes will reoccur more and more frequently until the drive won't boot.


Put your OS and applications on an enterprise rated drive. Such as:
Western Digital 1TB RE4 Enterprise Hard Drive WD1003FBYX B&H


Use SuperDuper! (or equivalent) to make a bootable clone and update the clone every few months or so.
Craig Terott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 09:29 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Partington View Post
I've never had to reinstall a Mac from scratch, though I am sure others probably have.

I have had to do it to Windows computers over the years, and is one of the reasons I no longer use Windows on a daily basis.
I'm with Dave. I have a Mac & then I don't need to worry about "defrags, registry cleanings, file clean ups, restores, disc checks, blah, blah, blah" as above.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 09:50 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
I'm with Dave. I have a Mac & then I don't need to worry about "defrags, registry cleanings, file clean ups, restores, disc checks, blah, blah, blah" as above.
Weird, me neither but I have windows 7, is that normal? :D

When I buy a new pc (about every 3-4 years) I install windows, all programs and all important updates and then disconnect from the internet and I only connect again if I have no other choice. (like with tmpgenc software) Then I make a image with acronis and start editing for one year, at the end of the wedding season, when all my backlog has cleared I delete all contents from my editing drives or move it to backup drives, reinstall windows using the image I made in the beginning of the year (takes 15 minutes) and I"m ready for another year.

Mac users are always the first to complain about how problematic windows can be but I actually never had a OS issue since I started using windows 7 pro nor did I have to mess around in the registry, defrag or whatever. Even windows xp pro never gave me any issues, only windows 98 did.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 11:33 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Terott View Post
When a system HD (HD with OS) is failing, there are usually warning signs before complete failure (on Mac and Windows). Everything will freeze, including the cursor. The freezes will reoccur more and more frequently until the drive won't boot.
My poor drive failed suddenly and so badly that the iMac wouldn't even enter the firmware screen with the bad drive installed. After fixing the iMac, I tried the bad drive in a PC out of curiosity and the PC wouldn't enter the BIOS screen with the bad drive installed either. LOL, I've never seen such a bad drive.

According to the recent study on HD failures by Google

http://research.google.com/archive/disk_failures.pdf

if you have SMART scan errors, reallocation counts, offline reallocation counts or probational counts the drive will surely fail soon, but lots of drives fail without giving any such errors ahead of time.

Sometimes hardware or software upgrades are significant enough that reinstalling the OS from scratch is easier than modifying an existing installation. Every time I've done this, I'm amazed at how much I had previously customized the old installation. It still takes quite a bit of work to get the new installation running as smoothly as the old one.

Last edited by Eric Olson; February 5th, 2013 at 04:01 PM.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 11:39 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

Using Windows 7 and Edius, I never had to re-install. Come to think of it, I don't defrag either, although maybe I should. Everything has been running smoothly for the last 3 years. Sometimes my computer is on 24/7 when rendering animation files, but usually it's on 18 hours a day.
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2013, 03:09 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: How often do you clean reinstall your workstation computer

the last time I did a clean reinstall was....when I built my new edit machine a couple of months ago and upgraded my software. My previous machine was almost 5 years old, never did anything to it and it ran great. Still does but just not enough horses to do XDCam and AVCHD. I doubt I'll be doing anything to this one either. If it ain't broke, I don't fix it.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network