Transcode before edit? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2015, 01:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Decatur, AL
Posts: 858
Transcode before edit?

I was talking to a guy the other day and he was saying he converts everything to ProRes 422 before he starts editing.

Me personally, I just drop it all on the timeline in PPCC and have at it... AVCHD, AVCHD2.0, MXF, MOV, MTS.

What do you guys do?
__________________
Kyle
KR Productions; www.kyleroot.com
Kyle Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2015, 03:38 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: Transcode before edit?

Same here, I use a garbage bin called Edius, it will take anything I will trow at it :)

Only when I really need to I will transcode to a intermediate codec to edit, that might be a multicam edit of 3 or 4 camera's in 4K. Otherwise I always edit natively which can be a mixture of 4K from my ax100, GH4 or avchd/xavc from my 1080p camera's.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2015, 03:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 677
Re: Transcode before edit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Root View Post
Me personally, I just drop it all on the timeline in PPCC and have at it... AVCHD, AVCHD2.0, MXF, MOV, MTS.

What do you guys do?
I do the same as you. People *used* to transcode everything, before computers got fast enough that it often just doesn't matter. But those days are thankfully (mostly) behind us now.
Bruce Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2015, 04:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 209
Re: Transcode before edit?

Sometimes I will let FCP X create prores proxies for multiclip sequences, just to make 4k play back a bit smoother.
Daniel Latimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2015, 05:58 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,051
Re: Transcode before edit?

I also just chuck various formats into Magix with no problems.

Roger
Roger Gunkel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2015, 12:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Charlottesville
Posts: 250
Re: Transcode before edit?

One benefit of transcoding to ProRes 422 is that if I'm editing a long form wedding video (or a long recital) then Premiere Pro will export much more quickly than if I had edited with the original AVCHD files. For some of these two hour recitals, if I have to add Colorista or Denoiser to the footage in my timeline it will take over a day to export if I'm editing in AVCHD, but it will only take around 3-4 hours if editing with ProRes. With that said, it doesn't improve the quality but just makes things go faster.

I have read that if you shoot in a highly compressed format like AVCHD or MP4, it's a good idea to export your final video to an intermediate codec like ProRes 444 before compressing to MP4 for the web.
Michael Silverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2015, 01:41 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: Transcode before edit?

With current systems and NLE's almost no-one sees the benefit of using a intermediate codec but if I had to edit only one project a month I would transcode all footage from all my cameras to a HQX avi codec in Edius, it is like cutting through butter and just improves the overall editing experience.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2015, 05:51 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Transcode before edit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Latimer View Post
Sometimes I will let FCP X create prores proxies for multiclip sequences, just to make 4k play back a bit smoother.
Ditto - otherwise FCPX just sucks it up and runs.

The only thing I do now is to use EditReady to re-wrap the source files with uncompressed audio instead of compressed audio. The video remains untouched. This has the advantage that FCPX doesn't need to copy the files to it's library (you can leave them in place) and Premiere Pro doesn't need to conform the audio either (which used to drive me nuts!).
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2015, 05:53 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Transcode before edit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Silverman View Post
I have read that if you shoot in a highly compressed format like AVCHD or MP4, it's a good idea to export your final video to an intermediate codec like ProRes 444 before compressing to MP4 for the web.
I always export to a ProRes 422 file then use Handbrake to create the MP4, since it provides better results with smaller file sizes than either media encoder or compressor.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2015, 03:09 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh Scotland
Posts: 58
Re: Transcode before edit?

I go straight to pro res but I'm still in the dark ages using FCP7 so not much choice really.
Jon Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2015, 03:19 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Transcode before edit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Robertson View Post
I go straight to pro res but I'm still in the dark ages using FCP7 so not much choice really.
If you have a machine that can run FCPX you will be amazed how much faster you can edit your weddings!
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2015, 02:07 AM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: VIC
Posts: 3
Re: Transcode before edit?

Hi Please advice as I am new to the game.

I record full HD
is it worth to cut down to a lower format to make it fast for editing on Primier
Then export the media DVD format?

Thanks
Dimi Arachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2015, 05:41 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: DC
Posts: 8
Re: Transcode before edit?

Dimi, the first thing I'd do is test the hypothesis that transcoding actually is faster. Grab a stopwatch (or run a timer app), choose, say, three of your old clips, and...

1. see how long it takes to transcode everything, import it into Premiere, lay all the clips back to back, and export your project
2. do the same thing as #1, except using the native clips instead of the transcoded clips

If transcoding your footage is faster, you'll have to decide for yourself whether the saved time is worth the hassle of transcoding :-)

EDIT: when you say "cut down", do you mean transcode, or set your camera to record at a lower resolution?

Last edited by Nick Piegari; July 11th, 2015 at 05:43 PM. Reason: might've misinterpreted the question
Nick Piegari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2015, 09:44 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,555
Re: Transcode before edit?

For a simple edit I don't transcode, otherwise I use prores. Some codecs like h264 need to be rendered in fcp6. Every time you change something it needs to be rerendered.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network