Vimeo Glitch at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:25 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK/Yorkshire
Posts: 2,066
Vimeo Glitch

Anyone having an embed problem with vimeo - on Facebook when I paste the link it's showing the file name as the title, even though I have changed it, and the default poster frame, even though I have changed that as well.

First time I've come across this and it's doing it all the time (well for the last 3 upload/embeds)

Cheers

Pete
Peter Rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:34 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: Vimeo Glitch

Do you have a plus or pro account?
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 788
Re: Vimeo Glitch

Not happening to me. Just noticed I never posted one from a couple weeks ago & posted it now. States the title I gave it, not the filename.

I'm a Plus, fwiw. But are you just pasting the URL into your post, or the full embed code? I agree, odd glitch tho.
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:49 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK/Yorkshire
Posts: 2,066
Re: Vimeo Glitch

I'm a plus user and I embed the same way I always have without a problem - this just started today for no apparent reason. I've tried full URL and embed code - I'll have to get on to Vimeo tech support as it's not good - I've also had problems recently with file names with spaces!
Peter Rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 01:56 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: Vimeo Glitch

Maybe they changed some thing to force you to go for the pro account :) I just yesterday went from a pro account back to plus, having pro was not worth the extra cost for me.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 05:09 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,076
Re: Vimeo Glitch

Vimeo has really good help forums, moderated by people who work at Vimeo. I get an answer within a half hour, almost always. Try that.
Mike Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 05:31 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 788
Re: Vimeo Glitch

A search said run the URL thru FB's debugger link: https://developers.facebook.com/tools/debug/ It said to try the "Fetch New Scrape" button after entering the URL.

Could be possible, FB is the one with the glitch, reading old or default cache code.
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 07:49 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Belfast
Posts: 823
Re: Vimeo Glitch

I nearly always have to use the Facebook debugger to get my link to display properly!
Clive McLaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2015, 03:15 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Malta
Posts: 66
Re: Vimeo Glitch

Facebook Debugger will most certainly fix this (along with a bunch of other related issues, such as image not showing up)
Malcolm Debono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2015, 05:03 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 495
Re: Vimeo Glitch

As an aside, under the embed setttings tab, we are able to embed in HD by default, yet when I select this option and view via Vimeo's website, I see it in standard definition first (via Mobile).

Does this not fall under the bracket of the Embed settings, and if not, is there a way to default all videos via Vimeo to play in HD too?
Craig McKenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2015, 01:03 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 788
Re: Vimeo Glitch

I actually had this glitch occur for the first time today. Odd because I loaded a few over the last few weeks. This one I did use the 'Choose custom frame' from vimeo, whereas the others I might have either uploaded a stillframe, or used the Random continuously until finding the one I liked. I don't really recall.

Anyway entering the URL in the debugger & selecting 'Fetch New Scrape' did work, and adjust it.
David Barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2015, 05:06 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Coast - NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,420
Re: Vimeo Glitch

I've had that a couple of times - isn't it a facebook problem?
__________________
Cheers - Paul M.
www.relivetheday.com.au : www.perbenyik.com
Paul Mailath is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network