Magic Bullet rendering times at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 1st, 2006, 03:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, ON. Canada
Posts: 374
Magic Bullet rendering times

Hi Guys,
I just received magic bullet for after effects and was wondering about rendering times. I am soing a 5 minute clip into 30p and it is taking about 16hrs or more. Is this normal and how do you do a hour and half wedding. Am I doing something wrong. Also in after effects I am using only 60% of my ram is there any way to get it to use all of it?

Thanks

Jason
Jason Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 04:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 164
Hey Jason. 16 Hours for a 5 minute video? That is abnormal I think. What is your processor speed and graphics card? Also, to answer your second question, I don't believe their are any in program options. But you can hit Ctrl-Alt+Del, go to processes, right-click after effects and set the priority to real-time or high. I normally do this when something is rendering and the computer is working on it's own. It can cause instability, so I set it back to normal when it's done rendering.
Justin Tomchuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 05:12 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, ON. Canada
Posts: 374
Hi Justin,
I am using a Sony Vaio P4 3.4 with an ATI X600XT. Normally rendering doesn't take long at all. However, magic bullet at 30p is taking forever.
Jason Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 06:34 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 164
Well, your machine isn't the problem. Magic Bullet will generally take a while to render, but 16 hours for 5 minutes is too long. Which presets are you using? Did you create a custom one? If you created a custom one and used a lot or all of the options available, it would take longer than their presets because their presets don't use all the options but an important few to get a certain look.

Are you rendering with Magic Bullet and having other effects such as motion or blur or anything else like that?

Jason, I don't know what to say. This is standard definition and not HD right? Make sure all other power hungry programs are closed such as photoshop or virus scan etc.

Justin
Justin Tomchuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 07:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thunder Bay, ON. Canada
Posts: 374
Justin,
I am just importing a guys prep clip into AE putting it into a comp and appying magic bullet to render it 30p. No effects at all. I am running Norton anti-virus and Norton internet security, will this have a real affect on the program?
Jason Bowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 07:38 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Bowers
I am running Norton anti-virus and Norton internet security, will this have a real affect on the program?
Not really, but it frees up some more RAM.

Have you tried using Magic Bullet itself to deinterlace the video and colour correct at the same time instead of deinterlacing beforehand? That is unless you are using already progressive full scan video to begin with. I'm running out of ideas.

I don't know Jason, it's hard to pin down. If you paid for it, you might want to return it if you can and try different methods. I'm not sure if you can return it, since it is software and most of the time software is non refundable for obvious reasons.
Justin Tomchuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 09:19 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
magic bullet 2 doesnt support the ATI range of cards...so what ur doign is all softwre..
to be honest, for weddings, i think the inbuilt deinterlacer or even vegas with Smart Deinterlace would be a better option for speed alone.

MB is nice, but thats all it is.. i wodnt rely on it for all my work.
In addition, most of the presets can be made through clever use of your own filters from your NLE.. being AE ur tool of chjoice for effects thre are MANY plugins which will do u wonders and give MB a run for their money.

There was a thread not long ago about MB and render times..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 09:58 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Tomchuk
Not really, but it frees up some more RAM.
It will actually free up some CPU cycles as well, which will definitely help with rendering, at least to some extent. I always kill as many running processes as possible before either rendering or capturing.
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network