IRivers and PA systems at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Wedding / Event Videography Techniques
Shooting non-repeatable events: weddings, recitals, plays, performances...


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2006, 06:29 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
IRivers and PA systems

Hi All, Is it possible to plug an Iriver IFP-890 into a PA system's line-out to record decent sound of an live band?

Or would I be better off just using my Rode VM plugged into my DVC30 (sans XLR adaptor)

Instead of using the PA I could set up my two Irivers with giant squid mics to the left and right of the band..?

Any suggestions appreciated, thanks
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 10:02 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 247
I have used and iriver to take a direct feed from both pa & audio mixers. Be sure you take a line out that has the main mix. I usually have the input level of the iriver at 32. I prefer the levels to be low and boosted in post than clipping.

If you have any type of led or level indicator you can connect to the pa output it will eliminate a lot of guesswork. The irivers do not have an auto level to compensate if the pa sound is adjusted higher or lower.

Hope this helps will be glad to answer any questions.
George Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2006, 10:46 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 286
I have used my iRiver ifp795 to record off a dj mixer at receptions several times. I usually set my iRiver to 45. I have actually had a few occasions where 45 has been a lot lower signal than what I would like, but occasionally it is too high. There is no good way to know without any meters or AGC.

On the other hand... I recently purchased an iRiver H320 20GB HDD unit that has line in. I haven't received it yet but think I will have it tomorrow. The H320 does not have meters or AGC either... at least not with the stock firmware :)

I am planning to replace the iRiver firmware with RockBox (www.RockBox.org) which is... I guess kind of like linux for MP3 players...

It adds some new features to the iRiver including much needed tools for recording. From what I understand it adds peak meters, the ability to adjust recording gain while recording, AGC, a clip light where the iRiver screen back light flashes when the input clips... I have not gotten to test it out yet.. but from what I have read it seems very promising. I'll let everybody know how I like it once I get it, figure out how to upgrade the firmware, and test it out.
__________________
Matt Trubac
Matt Trubac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:18 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Thanks guys, excellent info,

Is the connecton on a PA system usually a 3.5 jack or will I need a different cable other than a 3.5 to 3.5?

Thanks again
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 09:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 247
Most common have been dual rca, 1/4 phone and xlr. After connecting to the iriver I always check with the headphones for sound quality and levels.
George Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 09:35 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
I usually connect my iRiver to the REC OUT of a DJ's board. This is a high impedance and, most importantly, constant signal level that is not affected by any changes made on the DJ's master fader. The REC OUT is usually a stereo RCA connection, so a simple Dual RCA to 3.5mm stereo plug is all that is needed.
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 09:53 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Providence,RI
Posts: 26
iRiver T30

I'm sorry for jumping-in this thread.
My question is Which of the iRiver MP3 players have both mic input and line in capabilities. I want to be able to mic-up the groom at the ceremony and then be able to get a direct feed from the DJ's mixer during the reception.
Will the iRiver T30 work.
Thanks for the input(s) on this thread
Eb Samba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 10:11 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 247
Sorry the t30 will not work; it is deceiving on the line in.

The t30 series will accept a line in signal only, so if you want to use the t30 connected to a pa system or audio mixer it should work fine. However it will not accept a microphone level input.

The older irivers have the same exterior labeling for a line input however in the menu system you can select mic or line level for the signal. This will accommodate the line level signal, dj board, pa mix etc or a mic level such as micing up the groom.

Just remember to either have two dedicated irivers one for the mic at the ceremony and one for the dj at the reception or if using single iriver change the menu setting from mic to line. If you connect a line input and the menu is set to mic it will overdrive and distort. Opposite if you set the menu to line and connect a mic it will be to low of signal and nothing will be recorded.

If you cannot get a direct feed from the dj the sennheiser 604 drum mic is a popular choice for placing in front of the dj's speaker(s).

Even thought the irivers with mic inputs are discontinued they can still be purchased from numerous vendors. You may also want to consider the new Samson zoom recorder.

There are many discussions on the topic but if you don't find an answer searching please ask.
George Bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 10:43 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Providence,RI
Posts: 26
older irivers

George
Thanks for taking the time to answer my question.
Which of the Old iRivers have the capabilities of both mic input and line input.
Once again thanks. Also thanking everyone who contributed or contributs to this thread.
Eb Samba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 04:30 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Ed, I picked an iFP-8xx model and IFP-7xx model on Ebay for peanuts. If I remember rightly it's these two series's that are suitable for mic and line-in recording.

Once you have them, do a search for Giant Squid on this forum. This is a guy based in the US who makes custom mic's for these units. I have two and they are excellent, very reasonable too.
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 08:07 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 286
Got my H320. Loaded RockBox. So far so good.

Lots of recording options... several different MP3 quality setings up to 320kbps... and wav recording.

The peak meter is a really nice feature... the left/right channel gain can be linked and controlled together, or adjusted independently. Gain can even be controlled while recording. I have read mixed reviews on the AGC settings... I need to test it out a little more. So far worth every penny of $150.
__________________
Matt Trubac
Matt Trubac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 08:39 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 475
One thing to make sure of when trying to take a board feed from a band, is that everything is going thru the board. Many times, as in my old band, it's only vocals(and saxophone) thru the PA, guitars, bass keys, etc relied on their own amps, and drums were not miked at all. wouldn't want to see anyone go thru the trouble of taking a board feed and wind up with pristine vocals and nothing else.
Bill Mecca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 09:03 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Bean
Sorry the t30 will not work; it is deceiving on the line in.

The t30 series will accept a line in signal only, so if you want to use the t30 connected to a pa system or audio mixer it should work fine. However it will not accept a microphone level input.

The older irivers have the same exterior labeling for a line input however in the menu system you can select mic or line level for the signal. This will accommodate the line level signal, dj board, pa mix etc or a mic level such as micing up the groom.

Just remember to either have two dedicated irivers one for the mic at the ceremony and one for the dj at the reception or if using single iriver change the menu setting from mic to line. If you connect a line input and the menu is set to mic it will overdrive and distort. Opposite if you set the menu to line and connect a mic it will be to low of signal and nothing will be recorded.
Something you might want to try is to purchase a line matching attenuator. These devices are relatively inexpensive and have a small transformer inside to step the signal's impedance up or down by a fixed amount. Most of the RCA/F to 3.5mm/M adapters I have seen are to step down line levels to mic level. Finding one that goes the other way with the same connections may be a bit difficult.
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > Wedding / Event Videography Techniques

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network